IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
Country reports, risk ratings, industry analysis, daily alerts, and data. **First time users should follow the Create a New Account link, and use your @ucsd.edu email to register. An activation code will be sent to your @ucsd.edu email in order for you to complete the registration. Once your account is activated, login happens via UCSD’s Single Sign On.
How do you find relevant associations?
Why is it important to study associations?
Some industry associations publish surveys, reports and statistics. If you go to their website on the internet, you'll see some of this content is offered free-of-charge, and other content is fee-based.
Examples:
WIPO Technology Trends, 2021: Assistive Technology
Year-End 2023 RIAA Revenue Statistics
2022 Public Transportation Fact Book: 73rd Edition
Some associations also put on events, conferences and trade shows. Here are where vendors gather on the trade floor to reach customers easily. It's a great way to study potential competition, buyers and suppliers.
If you see an event named, try checking it out on the web or as a keyword in the business news databases to get a sense of how important it is to the industry and what other information you can glean about companies, products and individuals.
There is no single, accurate and up-to-date listing of all trade shows. Keep an eye opened in the business news and then google the name of the show.
Tips: Even if you have the name of an older show, try searching it to see if it's still being held. Who are the vendors on the exhibit floor? Who are the keynote speakers? What are the topics of the sessions and who is presenting? There are many leads about trends in an industry that can be gleaned from trade shows.
Examples of well-known trade shows:
CES | Consumer Technology Association (Las Vegas, every January)
NAMM National Association of Music Merchants (Anaheim, every June)
Natural Products Expo (West every spring; East every summer)
Many North American regional business publications have list features in their weekly publications that are devoted to the top companies or organizations on a particular topic or industry, like top women-owned businesses, top accounting firms, largest employers in... (name a city)., etc. These weekly lists are compiled annually into a Book of Lists for a city or region.
There are two main publishers of these weeklies, and their contents are incorporated into at least one of our subscription resources, Bizjournals, MasterFile Premier and Gale Business Insights. Southern CA local publications are listed below. You'll have to experiment to find similar publications in another region.
Note: not all of the most recent BoL issues are available yet. They will be updated here as they become available. Use the "latest rankings articles" in the meantime.
