MAE 154 Product Design & Entrepreneurship: Situation Analysis & News

This guide contains links to Library and other resources that will help with class projects, specifically for finding background on market opportunity, relevant regulations, and competitors

News Resources for Situation Analysis

Use these resources for SWOT, industry and company analyses.

Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Factiva
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Gale Business Insights
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
Winmo (formerly Advertising RedBooks)
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.
BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints, and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints, and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.

Hoover's & Other Company Reports

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives, product lines and key competitors..

Regional Business News

Sometimes, the best coverage is from local and regional business news journalism. Below are the best resources we have for uncovering it.

Gale Business Insights
Searching in GBI also covers San Diego Business Journal articles, as well as other regional North American business papers.

Regional Business News
This database covers more than 80 business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Can be searched separately or simultaneously with Business Source Complete (national and international coverage) by using the 'Choose Databases' option from the main search screen.
Book of Lists (San Diego Business Journal)
The SDBJ’s weekly lists of leading companies and local organizations are online via the link above, while the most recent annual print compilation is in Geisel Library (HF3163.S38 S28 Fl 2 West Reference, 1986-present). See this guide for the other North American Books of Lists, including Los Angeles, Orange County, San Francisco & Silicon Valley and more.

Local resources

UC San Diego Library Digital Collections
The UC San Diego Library Digital Collections website currently features more than 50,000 digital objects, including documents, photographs, audio, video, and data sets.
Digitized primary sources from the libraries collections cover topics such as art, film, music, history and anthropology. In addition, UCSD Research Data Collections contain research data generated by campus researchers and supported by the Research Data Curation Program.