MAE 154 Product Design & Entrepreneurship: Home

This guide contains links to Library and other resources that will help with class projects, specifically for finding background on market opportunity, relevant regulations, and competitors

Welcome!

Use this guide to find easily high-quality content for your class project.

NOTE: Some of these resources are freely available on the internet, but most are not. Subscription resources appear with a icon near them ( ). For accessing these subscription resources, see the info below.

Accessing Electronic Resources?

You can access thousands of e-journals, e-books, databases, and more through UC San Diego Library.

For on-campus access, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.

To access library resources from off-campus:

Option 1: Connect through UC Library Search

Option 2: Sign in at a Publisher or Resource Site

Look for 'Sign in Through My Institution' or 'Access via OpenAthens'.
Select 'University of California San Diego' and choose OpenAthens Federation if prompted.

Option 3: Connect through Campus VPN

Download and open the VPN AnyConnect
Select "2- Step-Secured - all thru UCSD" when prompted for connection type
Approve your sign-in through Duo

For help with troubleshooting, visit our Connect to Library Resources page.

Quick Links to the Most Useful Resources for Class

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence) Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives, product lines and key competitors..

Gale Business Insights GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business Source Complete Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Factiva Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Mergent Market Atlas This resource replaces Mergent Online in June 2025. It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views, SEC filings, and other reports.
SimplyAnalytics An easy to use mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 Election Data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. The included MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset contains data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, the MOSAIC segmentation system, and detailed lifestyle information. Community Lifestages presents data based on Householder Age, Income and Household Family Status. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset which includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. Data is downloadable in GIS-ready shapefiles. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. (formerly known as SimplyMap).

Concepts for Entrepreneurship Research

2024 Summer IGE Handout
IGE visitors, see Infostation Computers on this page for more information.
Market Research Workshheet
This handout that prompts you to consider many types of intelligence sources. 10/13/20 update: this is the page Adele mentioned in the GPIM 472 presentation
2024 Fall Business Research Intro

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Research Guide