SIO 126 & 126L - Marine Microbiology: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. For example, it includes authoritative information on marine microbial life, ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, the impact of pollution and climate change, and the use of the oceans for food and energy.

This encyclopedia, know as eLS for short, is an easy to search, up-to-date collection of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology and virology.

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts. EOE content is mainly articles on topics, places, and biographies, plus international reports, brief definitions, and some eBooks, videos, and sound files. Topics covered range from biological diversity of living organisms, atmospheric sciences, biogeochemistry, oceanography, ecology, forestry, fisheries, marine biology, agriculture, aquaculture, to environmental engineering, environmental economics, and environmental sociology.

This collection has over 380 marine and aquatic science full text handbooks, and over 40 on microbiology, from CRCnetBASE. Easy to use and search interface with each book chapter presented as PDF and high resolution PDF. These books cover a variety of topics such as algae, ecology, aquatic toxicology, and even an atlas for bacterial identification.

This textbook covers a broad range of topics in marine microbiology, and this revised 3rd edition has expanded chapters and new diagrams & illustrations. Many current topics are covered, such as "the impacts of rising CO2 levels on microbial community structure and ocean processes, interactions of microbes with plastic pollution, symbiotic interactions, and emerging diseases of marine life."

This book addresses the roles that microbes play in all planetary environments. It covers information on microbes in air, water, and soil and their impact on human health and welfare. There are 5 general areas detailed throughout this volume: basic principles of environmental microbiology, general analytical methodologies, detection of microbial activity, the impact of microbial activity on the environment, and detection and control of pathogens in the environment.

This volume is part of the Methods in Microbiology series. Marine Microbiology was written by experts in the field. The chapters start with the introduction and background of a particular method, followed by a concise description of the procedures involved. Includes a historical perspective, autotrophic picoplankton, bacteria and viruses, detection of phytoplankton by remote sensing, marine pollution microbiology, and microbes in extreme environments. A list of suppliers is provided at end of each chapter, plus a color plate section.

This book emphasizes microbial technology over basic biology, it covers the technology behind high-value compounds for use as pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals or cosmetics, from prospecting to production issues. Starting with a definition of the field, the book goes on to address industrially important aspects of marine microbial biotechnology. Chapters include such areas as Marine Cyanobacteria, Small-Molecule Antibiotics, Marine Bacteriophages, Bioactive Compounds from Marine Actinomycetes, Marine Microorganisms for Medical Applications, and Marine Microbial Enzymes.

This is the 4th edition, of "The Prokaryotes" and is described as the "most complete resource on the biology of prokaryotes". The content of this edition is divided into two parts: Part 1 contains review chapters dealing with the most important general concepts in molecular, applied and general prokaryote biology; Part 2 describes the known properties of specific taxonomic groups.