UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines.
You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon.
Use HathiTrust to browse & search over 111,730 items digitized from the former Scripps Library collection. This digitized collection in HathiTrust includes books, technical reports, & series in oceanography, earth & marine sciences, and atmospheric sciences fields, plus Scripps Institution of Oceanography publications. Use your UCSD login to gain access to more full text content and enable full book downloads.
Due to Library closures during the COVID-19 Pandemic, HathiTrust has temporarily released the full text of books under copyright, via their "Emergency Temporary Access Service" (ETAS). To access the full text of these books you need to Login with your UCSD accounts, for full instructions see the HathiTrust ETAS Help.