LibGuides: INTL 190: Immigrant Exclusion Around the World (Fall 2018): Find Articles

Is it scholarly?

A quick checklist:

1. Where did you find the source? Did you use a scholarly database? The Library catalog (UC Library Search)?

2. Who's responsible for the work? Is it published by a university press or another known scholarly publisher? What are the author's credentials? Is the author a professor or other known academic or scholar?

3. Does it look like a scholarly work? Does it have footnotes and/or endnotes and/or a bibliography? What kinds of sources it it citing? Where did the author get their information? What research methodology are they using?

Key Research Tools

Scholarly articles are written by academics who are experts in their field and published in scholarly journals. Peer-reviewed articles are scholarly articles that have been read and vetted by other experts in the field (e.g., the author's peers) before the journal accepts them for publication.

Find citations to scholarly articles in Political Science and other Social Sciences searching by keyword in the following databases.

Search tip: Use the yellow UC-eLinks button to link to the online full text (if available), find the print version of the publication (by searching the Roger library catalog) or order a copy from another library (when not available from the UC San Diego Library).

Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
ProQuest - All Databases
Select and search across multiple databases we license from ProQuest. Most of these databases index--and in some cases provide full text access--of journals in all subject areas, along with indexing books, book chapters, dissertations and other sources. You can also add some non-journal databases to your search, like Dissertations & Theses and several major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc). However, a few ProQuest products, such as Congressional, Statistical Abstracts of the World, and Statistical Insight, are not included here and must be searched separately.
HeinOnline
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
Canadian Content
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Provincial Statutes of Canada

Case Law
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
History of International Law
Law Library of Congress Reports
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provincial Statutes of Canada
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Library

Journals and Periodicals
Bar Journals
Law Journal Library
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

Special Collections
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Cataloging Legal Literature
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Democracy in America
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
LGBTQ+ Rights
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Military and Government
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Voting Rights & Election Law
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)

U.S. Federal Content
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Library of Congress Reports
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Water Rights & Resources

U.S. State Content
Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide
Session Laws Library
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
State Constitutions Illustrated
State Reports: A Historical Archive
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Subject Compilations of State Laws
Water Rights & Resources
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

SSRN: Social Science Research Network/Political Science Network
Part of the Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN), PSN includes announcements, job postings, research and working papers, an elibrary of articles (some have a fee), and a professional directory. Some features require the creation of a (free) login.

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.

Additional Research Tools

Additionally, depending on your specific area of research, you may want to run searches in these tools for related disciplines or multidisciplinary areas.

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Provides a valuable new source of coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Alternative Press Index
Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
Alternative Press Index Archive
Citations to articles alternative, radical, and left publications in North America which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Environment Complete
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
Indexes a wide range of important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences as far back as 1907 up to 1984. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
Index to Current Urban Documents Online (1995)-
Index and search engine providing full-text access to documents from local governments, civic organizations, and planning agencies from 500 cities in the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Labordoc
Labordoc, the ILO Library's database, contains references and full text access to the world's literature on the world of work.
Left Index
Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Philosopher's Index
The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
UNBISnet: United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet
UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskj?ld Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Index for all aspects of Urban Studies from 1992 to the present. Includes abstracts and many full-text links. Formerly Sage Urban Studies Abstracts.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Sources for News from around the World

News sources can be particularly useful as primary sources that describe events as they unfold. They may cover sitautions or events that are newer or more specific than than one might find in scholarly articles. The Library subscribe to a number of online sources for international news.

Guide to U. S. Historical Newspapers @ UCSD

Read today's news

Read today's New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post via Factiva

Wall Street Journal (university membership site license)
Students, faculty, and staff may create a free personal account for print and web content from The Wall Street Journal. Includes WSJ app access and contains 4 years of articles coverage. Membership program sponsored by UC San Diego Library.

New York Times - for undergrads, funded by Associated Students - UC San Diego
The New York Times and the ASUCSD have partnered to provide current UC San Diego undergraduate students with gratuitous access to The New York Times. Students will have access to like content dating back to 1851, including newsletters, podcasts, and much more. Visit www.accessnyt.com today and register with your @ucsd.edu email!
New York Times - for everyone, via the San Diego County Library/funded by the CA State Library (no library card required)
Full access to the online edition of the New York Times, including breaking news, in-depth articles, op/ed pieces, videos, blogs and more. Login with your NYTimes.com account to get unlimited 24-hour access. If you do not have an account, you will be prompted to create one.

Google Scholar

Bonus search tip: Google Scholar is a useful tool because it searches within the full text of articles. It's most useful when your topic is so narrow that you don't find much using the subject-specific databases.