Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Environmental Policy research at the UC San Diego Library! The tabs above will guide you to resources that may be useful in your research.
Some general notes:
1) I am on campus only on Mondays. If you need help with library issues, feel free to contact me via email at firstname.lastname@example.org and I'll respond as quickly as possible.
2) You must be connected to the campus VPN to access the library's online resources from off-campus. Please see the Connect from Off-Campus instructions for more information. Be sure to select 2-Step Secured - Allthruucsd from the group drop-down menu while authenticating.
Best Bets for Starting Your Research
EBSCO - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search across multiple databases we license from EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete. These databases index journals and magazines--and in many cases provide full text access--in all subject areas in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and engineering. Additional sources like newspapers, books and book chapters are also indexed in some of these databases.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888. Formerly Environment Index.
ProQuest - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Select and search across multiple databases we license from ProQuest. Most of these databases index--and in some cases provide full text access--of journals in all subject areas, along with indexing books, book chapters, dissertations and other sources. You can also add some non-journal databases to your search, like Dissertations & Theses and several major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc). However, a few ProQuest products, such as Congressional, Statistical Abstracts of the World, and Statistical Insight, are not included here and must be searched separately.
Other Favorite Resources
Data-Planet This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguide
for more detail.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.; Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law; Women and the Law (Peggy); Religion and the Law;
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.(For full text of most historic reports and documents, try the U.S. Congressional Serial Set via Readex.) Now also includes Serial Set Maps 1789-2007; Executive Branch 1789-1952; and Presidential Materials 1789-Present
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Includes books, reference works and journal articles from across the social sciences research methods, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. The resources cover every aspect of research skills training and can help researchers at all levels through every step of the research process, from coming up with a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis. Also included are SRM Cases (stories of how real research projects were conducted) and SRM Datasets (a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves).
TRAC: Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium This link opens in a new window
TRAC provides detailed profiles of terrorist groups and vulnerable regions. Also includes articles on ideologies, targets, tactics, and current chatter. For more information, click the "How to Use"
link in the database
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit
Offers authoritative scientific data and information about climate science, adaptation, and mitigation. Includes case studies, tools, reports, information by topic, and more.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. (1817-1980)
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.
New "MUSE in Focus" collection
Project MUSE has launched a new curated selection of material that "explores the human causes and effects of climate change, and the urgency of action to avert future catastrophe."
Most of these items are freely available; those that aren't can be accessed by UCSD affiliates on campus or via the campus VPN.
MUSE in Focus: Humanity's "Code Red" on Climate Change