Reference works are a good place to begin your research, as they generally provide background information and often cite longer, more authoritative research works on the topic.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science is a substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated resource for your research in all climate related areas. There are over 200 articles and summaries in this publication that are written and peer reviewed by certified experts of the topic. Easy to use interface allows searching for topics or browsing of broad subject areas. Click on the "Browse by Subject" link and note extensive list of topics, such as Climate Impact, Climate Systems, Communication, Forecasting, Geoengineering, History of Climate Science, Modeling, Policy, Politics & Governance, Risk Management & Adaptation, and Statistics.
Below are just a few selections of environmental studies reference works from the library catalog. To find additional similar materials, try adding a keyword such as dictionary, encyclopedia, or handbook to your search.
Climate Change : an encyclopedia of science and history by 
A Dictionary of Climate Change and the Environment: Economics, Science and Policy by 
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation by 
Dictionary of Environmental and Climate Change Law by 
Encyclopedia of Climate Change by 
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by 
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology by 
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Government and the Environment by 
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy In the United States by 
Environmental Issues, Global Perspectives by 
The Environmental Resource Handbook by 
The Handbook of Global Climate and Environment Policy by 
The Oxford Handbook of Environmental History by 
Routledge Handbook of Global Environmental Politics by 
Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law by 
Routledge Handbook of the Climate Change Movement by 
Routledge Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by 
Routledge Handbook on the Green New Deal by 
Routledge International Handbook of Social and Environmental Change by 
Worldmark Encyclopedia of U. S. and Canadian Environmental Issues by 
