Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
The EoM wiki is based on an electronic version of the "Encyclopaedia of Mathematics", published by Kluwer Academic Publishers until 2003, and by Springer after that. The encyclopaedia goes back to the Soviet Matematicheskaya entsiklopediya (1977), originally edited by Ivan Matveevich Vinogradov.
Encyclopedia of Biostatistics, 2nd edition
This 8 volume set edited by Peter Armitage is available from your desktop to consult for statistical approaches to life and medical sciences.
Eric Weisstein's encyclopedia is a comprehensive & interactive tool for students, educators, math enthusiasts & researchers. Like the vibrant & constantly evolving discipline of mathematics, it is continuously updated to include new material/discoveries. See also on-line CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics, 2nd ed avail to UC only at MathNetBase. A print copy of this encyclopedia, 1st ed is available in the S&E Reference collection.
The peer-reviewed, open access encyclopedia where knowledge is curated by communities of experts. Each article/entry is peer-reviewed.
Searchable full-text editions of over 1,000 CRC/Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks, dictionaries & tables covering mathematics & engineering mathematics. For Probability & Statistics topics, use STATSnetBASE.
Searchable full-text editions of almost 800 CRC and Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks and tables covering a variety of topics in statistics & probability, with applications in health, business, environmental, biological & physical sciences and engineering. Includes Concise Handbook of Experimental Methods for the Behavioral and Biological Sciences; Handbook of Statistical Analyses Using R (also Using C, Using S-Plus, and Using SPSS)
Springer Math & Stats encyclopedias & ref handbooks
Several specialized encyclopedias & handbooks including the new 2016 Encyclopedia of Algorithms, the 2015 Encyclopedia of Applied and Computational Mathematics and the 2011 International Encyclopedia of Statistical Science
Table of integrals, series and products
The essential reference for integrals in the English language. Mathematicians, scientists, and engineers, rely on it when identifying and subsequently solving extremely complex problems. Since publication of the first English-language edition in 1965, it has been thoroughly revised and enlarged on a regular basis. Online is 7th edition, 2007; older editions in Geisel Library print collections.
VNR Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics [Library Only]
Favorite! Excellent use of color make examples and equations particularly readable. Has tables, detailed index, photographs and colour plates good for history of mathematics.
Additional Science & Engineering Encyclopedias
Also useful for math & statistical research
Online access to Encyclopedia & annual Yearbooks. Search encyclopedia or browse by subject to locate articles. Also: a science dictionary, biographies of 2,000+ scientists, & Student Center with study guides and essay topics. 1 simultaneous user allowed.
Dictionaries & Tables
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulas
33rd edition 2018.
More than 6000 entries. Provides essential formulas, tables, figures and detailed descriptions. The newest edition of this popular series also features many diagrams, group tables, and integrals that are not available online.
MATHnetBASE - now on Taylor & Francis platform
Searchable handbooks, dictionaries & tables covering mathematics & engineering mathematics. Includes CRC Standard Mathematical Tables & Formulae, Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists, and the Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics
Covers everything from pure and applied mathematics to statistics, and areas of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos. Brief biographical sketches are provided of the great mathematicians. 2nd edition, 1996.
Oxford Dictionary of Statistics
1500 entries. Provides concise, jargon-free definitions of terms. Features biographical information on key figures, entries covering statistical journals, terms used in computing, operational research, probability and mathematical & statistical notation.
Mathematics Handbook for Science and Engineering, 5th ed 2004
A comprehensive handbook for scientists, engineers, teachers and students at universities. The book presents in a lucid and accessible form classical areas of mathematics like algebra, geometry and analysis and also areas of current interest like discrete mathematics, probability, statistics, optimization and numerical analysis. It concentrates on definitions, results, formulas, graphs and tables and emphasizes concepts and methods with applications in technology and science.
For the fifth edition the chapter on Optimization has been enlarged and the chapters on Probability Theory and Statstics have been carefully revised.