Mathematics & Statistics: Find Journal Articles (Databases)

Guide to research for advanced undergraduate, graduate students and mathematicians

Searching the Mathematical or Statistical Literature? Start Here.

Most databases (with the triton symbol) are restricted to UCSD, so use VPN (or UCSD Protected WiFi) to access.

MathSciNet
The major index to mathematical literature for articles, books, and edited book chapters. Covers literature back to the early 1800s.
Mathematical Reviews (MR) from articles and books published since 1940. Bibliographic data from retro-digitized articles dates back to the early 1800s.
Current Index to Statistics
Bibliography of probability and statistics books, conference proceedings and journal articles. 1974-2017. IMS journals, JASA, American Statistician, and Technometrics are indexed back to the 1950's.
Covers 1974 - 2017. IMS journals, JASA, American Statistician, and and Technometrics are indexed back to the 1950's. Now hosted by AMS.
zbMATH
became open access in 2021

Jahrbuch Database - Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
Use zbMATH link as the Jahrbuch is now integrated with that mathematics literature database.
Jahrbuch covers 1868-1930. Excellent bibliography for older mathematics research, the European Mathematical Society's online version of Jahrbuch uber die Fortschritte der Mathematik covers also has links to scanned images of classic papers.
more...less...
Older journals are also indexed prior to 1860's, e.g. Crelle's journal (Journal für die Reine und Angewandte Mathematik) has been extended to Vol. 1 (1826).
AMS Mobile Pairing
You can access most AMS electronic products to which UCSD currently subscribes. AMS electronic products available for pairing include MathSciNet®, AMS electronic journals, and the AMS-distributed electronic journals Quarterly of Applied Mathematics and Journal of Algebraic Geometry. Only journals hosted on ams.org can be accessed through pairing.

Mobile pairing with MathSciNet® is currently available only on the Providence server, not the mirror sites. To set up and use MathSciNet® via mobile pairing, please choose Providence, RI from the mirror sites drop-down menu on MathSciNet®.

Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Current contents connect
Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides easy Web access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from ... relevant, evaluated websites.

How do I get the article?

In most of our article databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: Get it at UC

That will take you to UC Library Search with the citation filled out, which then should show you if UC San Diego has the article or paper:

- Online, if available and links to the journal site or vendor site with full text
- In print including the Library Annex
- or you can Request on interlibrary loan if we don't have the article.

MathSciNet and Astrophysics Data System has their own Article (and Journal) links that in most cases will bring up the licensed UCSD accessible e-article or a freely available version.
Need more help? Ask a Librarian

Mathematics & Statistics: Find Journal Articles (Databases)

VPN and WiFi Tips

Searching the Mathematical or Statistical Literature? Start Here.

More Article Databases

How do I get the article?

Browzine for Mathematics & Statistics