Skip to main content

Music: Streaming media, CDs, DVDs, etc.

Find books and articles on music, CDs, DVDs, etc., online audio or video, and scores.

Wireless and Off campus access

Databases marked UCSD Only are for current students, faculty, or staff.  Here is how to authenticate your status for the system:

UCSD Encrypted Wireless
For on campus laptops or smart phones.

Connecting from off-campus

 ACT provides Help if you are having connection problems.

New CD and DVD Lists

Something we don't already have to recommend?

CDs or DVDs only please (not download purchases due to licensing and/or copyright restrictions for libraries).

Recommend a purchase.

Online Music Audio and Video

These are UCSD Only subscription streaming databases.   For off-campus access, see the box at left. 

AUDIO

 
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM) 
Icon
American music from 19th century to contemporary compositions, electronic music, folk, jazz, Native American music, and more.

 

Electro:thèque : online electroacoustic music streaming Icon

Approximately 1200 works culled from the empreintes DIGITALes catalogue and its composers. Here you can discover new recordings as well as some timeless “classics” of electroacoustics.

 

Music Online: American Music Icon
Songs from the past about Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.


Music Online: Classical Music Library Icon
Provides streaming access to more than 766,000 tracks, including almost 50,000 recordings from EMI, and is growing monthly.

 

Music Online: Contemporary World Music Icon
Includes reggae, acoustic folk, Afro-Cuban, belly dance, banda, dub, hip-hop, world beat, and more.


Music Online: Jazz Music Library Icon
Over 900,000 tracks from a wide variety of genres and labels. 

 

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Icon
Documents the world's folk and ethnic musical traditions, also spoken word recordings such as political speeches, also nature sounds.


  
Naxos Jazz 
Icon
Over 100,000 tracks that span the history of jazz and include blues, R&B, and more.  



Naxos Music Library 
Icon
Primarily classical music from more than 650 record labels. Contains 
more than 1,460,600 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire and is growing monthly.

 

UC San Diego  Library Digital Collections: Music Collection Icon

This set of collections includes a range of Music-related materials from UC San Diego students and faculty, as well as prominent figures of the contemporary music scene in Southern California.

 

VIDEO

Music Online: Classical Music in Video Icon

Over 1,500 videos, including performances by leading orchestras,chamber music, and recitals, along with masterclasses and interviews from world renowned musicians.

 

Music Online: Opera in Video Icon

465 hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

 

Subject Guide

Peter Mueller's picture
Peter Mueller
Contact:
Geisel Library
(858) 534-7629
pmueller@ucsd.edu
Subjects:Music

Finding CDs, DVD's etc.

Search Roger for CDs, DVDs, and older formats.  Roger also links to recordings in some (not all) of the online databases noted below.  Usually a combination of keywords works best, such as composers and/or performers, piece, or pop song or album titles.  

As an option, the Roger Audio scope will exclude scores, books, DVDs and other formats from your search result, useful especially for famous composers.  Roger also has a Films & Videos scope that's useful if you want to only see what DVDs or videos we have of an opera or concert.

Using the Audio Scope in Roger with display both physical audio recordings and streaming media. If you want to eliminate streaming audio from a search result so it's CDs, Vinyl LPs, and Audio Tapes only:  click the "Modify Search" button, then limit the Material Type to "CD Audio"  or "Records/Tapes." The call numbers for CDs in the Roger begin with "MUD", Vinyl LPs "MU",  Audio Cassettes "MUC", and Open Reel Tapes "MUR."  Due to space considerations in the Geisel Library, these formats are kept in the library's Annex off campus. To have them retrieved click on the "Request" link to the right of the call number and the item's status.