Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Studies: Library Catalogs & Services

This introduction is geared towards upper level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and researchers. English and Chinese language resources are included.

Library Catalogs and Services

UCSan Diego Library http://library.ucsd.edu

UC Library Search (Library Catalog)  search-library.ucsd.edu 

National Library of China 中国国家图书馆: 特色资源全库检索 http://www.nlc.gov.cn/

Need Adobe Acrobat Reader 7.0+

民国专栏 http://res4.nlc.gov.cn/home/index.trs?channelid=4

  • 特色资源:数字方志,Qing dynasty and before
  • 特色资源:民国专栏:民国图书 15028 种, 民国期刊 4351 种, 民国法律 8117 种
  • 特色资源:图片专栏:敦煌遗珍中文数据库

Unfortunately consistent difficulty in accessing these resources

National Central Library 國家圖書館 http://www.ncl.edu.tw/

OCLC WorldCat http://uclibs.org/PID/12633

A global library network, biggest library online catalog in the world

Pinyin and Chinese character search enabled; pinyin recommended at the beginning of each search

Request function for ILL; UC E-links

University of Pittsburgh's East Asian Gateway Service for Chinese and Korean Academic Journal Publications 

http://www.library.pitt.edu/eal-gateway-service-user-guides

Request for Chinese language materials

http://www.library.pitt.edu/east-asian-library-gateway-chinese-form

A digital delivery service available to individual researchers

Focuses on the delivery of Chinese language academic journal publications unavailable in the collections of US research libraries

UC Library Search

UC Library Search UC Library Search includes all UC Libraries and some of Worldcat

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

 

Search Tips 

  • Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN.
  • Capitalize the operators AND, OR, NOT when combining key search terms.
  • To request items that the Library doesn't have click the Request button.
  • Click Digitalization to request scans of print book chapters or print articles.

 

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

 

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines. 

You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon. blue locked padlock

A-Z Databases

Newly Arrived Books (Chinese language)

Loading ...