Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for History of Science
Alchemy Web Site
Contains images, resources, bibliographies, texts, and much more.
British Society for the History of Mathematics
The BSHM-British Society for the History of Mathematics' extensive list of Web sites relevant to the study of history of mathematics, statistics, and computing. Good resources for teaching.
Catalog of the Scientific Community of the 16th and 17th Centuries
Collection of over 600 biographies on scientists of the 16th and 17th centuries. Searchable by over 20 different fields from obvious choices like Name to more obscure details like patronage and scientific society memberships.
Center for the History of Physics
Devoted to the history of modern physics and allied fields, including astronomy, geophysics, optics, and the like.
Computer History Museum
Contains a searchable timeline of computer history and photographs from the Museum's collection of artifacts.
Timeline of Computer History
Timeline of Computer History provided by the Computer History Museum.
History of Computing
Online collection of materials relating to the history of computing.
Edgar Fahs Smith Collection Images of Scientists and Philosophers
Part of the University of Pennsylvania's Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image. Contains digital facsimiles of rare materials. Pictures include scientists, and some laboratories and scientific apparatus.
History of Science Society Membership Directory
Searchable membership directory for these two societies.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
Links to full text and web resources on the internet, from the Greco-Roman period to the Bomb and NASA.
Jesuits and the Sciences, 1540-1995
Exhibit of rare scientific works from the Cudahy Collection of Jesuitica, Loyola University of Chicago.
National Academy of Sciences - Members
Biographical information on Members of the NAS. Includes links to the 264 Biographical Memoirs of select deceased members.
Science and Technology in 18th Century America
A Library of Congress bibliography and research guide to the subject area.
Science Studies Resources on the Internet
Provides links to departments, libraries and institutions, organizations and societies, publications, and reference services.
Electronic Text Collections
Complete Work of Charles Darwin Online
Large collection of writings by and about Darwin. Contains publications, handwritten manuscripts, and Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue. There are also over 250 supplementary texts, from reference works, reviews, obituaries, and biographies.
Darwin Correspondence Project
Searchable texts of more than 6000 letters written by Charles Darwin and information about 9000 more, as well as essays and other contextual material.
Digitized portion (partly reconstructed) of Charles Darwin's vast scientific library, including his scribbled notes in the margins.
The goal is to create database of the "Jahrbuch ?ber die Fortschritte der Mathematik" (JFM) and an electronic archive of the most important mathematical publications of the period 1868-1943.
MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive
Contains more than 1000 biographies, full-text historical articles, and famous curves index.
Niels Bohr Archive
Facsimiles, transcriptions, and translations of documents pertaining to the September 1941 meeting of Bohr and Heisenberg. Also contains links to annual reports, photographs, and more.
Ethics: UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Full text of books from the University of California's Press eScholarship Editions. Some marked "public" may be used by anyone from off campus. Most titles are also available in print at the UCSD Libraries.
University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
The full texts of over 500 scholarly out-of-print books published by the University of Pittsburgh Press.