Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These reference works contain authoritative articles on topics related to the history of science, technology, and medicine . Written by experts in their respective fields, the articles contain extensive bibliographies to journal articles and primary sources for further information. You can browse each reference work by topic or article title, or search across the full text, or even search at the publisher's website to search multiple reference works, though remember we might not have access to every reference work on a given publisher site. Publication years are included to give you an idea of the literature coverage within the articles.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Collection of narrative scientific biographies of mathematicians and natural scientists from all countries and from all historical periods. (Published 2008)
Dictionary of Scientists
Biographical dictionary covering all fields of science, math, and technology, going back 2,500 years (Published 1999)
Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Encyclopedia recounting the historical development of ideas in the Western tradition across a range of disciplines, including science. (Published 1973-74; print 2005 edition available in Reference CB9 .N49 2005).
Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Detailed biographies of scientists, engineers, explorers and inventors, in all disciplines and time periods. Also includes 380 articles summarizing the time-line of ideas in the leading fields of science, technology, mathematics and philosophy. (Published 2009)
Dictionary of Scientific Principles
Dictionary of more than 2,000 scientific principles. (Published 2019)
Dictionary of the History of Science
Short historical accounts of the important themes, ideas, and discoveries of science. (Published 1981)
Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures
1000+ in-depth entries on the history of the scientific, technological and medical accomplishments of cultures outside of the United States and Europe. (Published 2018)
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
Encyclopedia covering the history of science from the Renaissance to date, includes biographies and the impact of non-Western societies. (Published 2003)
Cambridge History of Science
Multivolume work on the history of science. Vols. 1-4 are arranged by time period (ancient to 18th centure), and Vols. 5-7 focus on modern science by discipline.. Vol. 8 is Modern Science in National, Transnational, and Global Context. (Published 2003-2020)
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia covering inventions, discoveries, concepts, fields of study, and significant contributors to science and medicine in the Medieval period, including South-Central and East Asian science. (Published 2005)