Business: Handbooks

Use this guide as a first stop to finding and using the business and management related resources of the UC San Diego Library.

Dictionaries

Oxford Handbooks on Business & Management
Scholarly experts provide research background on various topics, including business history, comparative institutions, economics, international business, pensions, regulation & strategy.
Oxford Reference Online: Economics & Business
Search ten dictionaries for quick definitions to terms in economics, statistics, business and more.
CRC STATSnetBASE
CRC Press produces reference & regular books in the sciences. See the subset for handbooks in business, finance and economics, which cover topics like risk management, game theory, and operations research methods.

The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: JSTOR e-book
ISBN: 9780814420287
Publication Date: 2013
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms.

General Guides & "Classics"

How to Read a Financial Report, 9th ed. by John A.& Tage C.Tracy
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9781119606468
Publication Date: 2020
This perennial favorite beginner’s guide to reading and understanding financial reports has been updated. It’s intended for investors, lenders, business leaders, analysts, and managers who want to read, analyze, and interpret financial accounting reports. Designed specifically for non-specialists, this reader-friendly resource covers the fundamentals of financial reporting in jargon-free English.
J. K. Lasser's Your Income Tax 2024 by J.K. Lasser Institute
Call Number: HJ4652 .J2, Latest edition @ Geisel 2nd Fl Research Assistance Desk
ISBN: 1394223498
Publication Date: 2023-11-30
One of the clearest handbooks to personal income taxes around. This latest entry will help with filing individual 2023 returns.

Starting a Business Checklist
This CA state site links to checklists and background resources on business starts here.

The Oxford Handbook of Business History by Geoffrey Jones (Ed)
Call Number: Oxford E-book
ISBN: 9780199263684
Publication Date: 2008
This Handbook provides a state-of-the-art survey of research in business history. It is about the evolution of business systems, entrepreneurs and firms, as well as their interaction with their political, economic, and social environment.
Marketing Scales Handbook, Vol. 8 by Gordon C. Bruner
Call Number: Ebsco e-book
ISBN: 9780692395837
Publication Date: 2015
"The Marketing Scales Handbooks are the longest-running series that provide reviews of multi-item measures used in scholarly studies of consumer behavior.” Each volume covers different instruments that focus on consumer behavior around topics like brands, advertising, shopping, emotion, e-commerce, and health. This volume has reviews of 392 new scales that were reported in top marketing journal articles published in 2012 and 2013. Each review has information about a scale's source, its psychometric quality, who has used it, and the questions/statements that compose the measure.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by James D. Wright, ed.
Call Number: Science Direct e-book
ISBN: 9780080970875
Publication Date: 2015
Over 3,900 articles spread over 99 subject areas; a key research tool for overviews of research on social sciences topics.

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
This subject encyclopedia covers a broad range of topics about "how individuals construct organizational structures, processes, and practices" which influence our social relations within institutions.
more...less...
This encyclopedia offers entries for all aspects of organizations: structure, process, practices. Topics relate to psychology, business, sociology, political science, philosophy and more. Topical treatment includes all aspects of theory and the encyclopedia is international in scope.

Research Methods Guides

Below are selected titles about methodological approaches to study of business and management topics. To find a more comprehensive list, here are the main subject headings to try:

Going big: a scientist's guide to large projects and collaborations by Christopher W. Stubbs
Call Number: MIT Press e-book
ISBN: 0262378493
Publication Date: 2024
This book covers the lifecycle of large projects to equip scientists worldwide, at every stage of their career. It addresses not just the technical side, but also the sociology and governance of large science collaborations.
Research Methods for Business by Uma Sekaran; Roger J. Bougie
Call Number: HD30.4 .S435, Geisel 6th fl.
ISBN: 9781119165552
Publication Date: 2016
This item provides a concise and straightforward introduction to research methods and how research can be applied in real business situations.
Business and Management Research Methodologies by Phil Johnson & Murray Clark, Eds.
Call Number: HD30.4 .B87, Geisel 2nd fl Reference
ISBN: 9781412912228
Publication Date: 2006
The 94 articles of this six-volume set have been carefully selected to capture the methodological variations in business and management research and to highlight the important philosophical assumptions that underpin these variances.

Sage Research Methods
Includes books, reference works and journal articles from across the social sciences research methods, including a large collection of qualitative methods books. The resources cover every aspect of research skills training and can help researchers at all levels through every step of the research process, from coming up with a research question, doing a literature review, planning a project, collecting and analyzing data, and writing up a report, dissertation or thesis. Also included are SRM Cases (stories of how real research projects were conducted) and SRM Datasets (a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves).

Handbooks, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries on Business Topics

These items provide authoritative background information

Annual Reviews
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field. This collection includes several finance and managerial handbooks, for example: Diversity and the Effective Corporate Board, Finance, an Introduction, Navigating the Business Loan, Venture Capital and Private Equity Contracting, and many more.
Business Plans Handbooks
This multi-volume encyclopedia set provides models of plans for many kinds of businesses.

Encyclopedia of African American Business, 2nd rev. ed. by Jessie Smith
Call Number: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9798216042846
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores the history of African American business, providing an inspiring image of the economic power of black people throughout their existence in the United States. It continues the historical account of developments in the African American business community and its leaders, describing the period from 18th-century America to the present day
Encyclopedia of Finance by Cheng-Few Lee & Alice C. Lee, eds.
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9783030912314
Publication Date: 2022
Provides of over 1,300 individual definitions, chapters, appendices. Comprehensive articles about theory and applied finance.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History by Melvyn Dubofsky (Editor-In-Chief); Paul S. Boyer (Series edited by)
Call Number: OUP e-book
ISBN: 0199738815
Publication Date: 2013
This Encyclopedia offers students and scholars access to information about the concepts, institutions/organizations, events, and individuals that have shaped the history of economics, business, and labor from the origins of what became the United States in an earlier age of globalization and the expansion of capitalism to the present.
The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Psychology by Michael I. Norton, Derek D. Rucker & Cait Lamberton, Eds.
Call Number: Cambridge e-book
ISBN: 9781107069206
Publication Date: 2015
Why do consumers make the purchases they do, and which ones make them truly happy? Why are consumers willing to spend huge sums of money to appear high status? This handbook addresses these key questions and many more. It provides a comprehensive overview of consumer psychology, examining cutting-edge research at the individual, interpersonal, and societal levels. Leading scholars summarize past and current findings and consider future lines of inquiry to deepen our understanding of the psychology behind consumers' decision making, their interactions with other consumers, and the effects of societal factors on consumption.
The Oxford Handbook of Luxury Business by Pierre-Yves Donzé (Editor); Véronique Pouillard (Editor); Joanne Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: OUP e-book
ISBN: 9780190932220
Publication Date: 2022
Experts in the study of luxury present a range of perspectives on luxury business, from a variety of social science approaches. Topics include conceptual foundations and the evolution of the luxury industry; the production of luxury goods; luxury branding and marketing; distributing luxury; globalization and markets; and issues of morality, inequality, and environmental sustainability.
The Lean Business Guidebook by M. J. S. Bindra; Ekroop Kaur
Call Number: Productivity Press e-book
ISBN: 9781003221746
Publication Date: 2022
Use this book to learn how to run a company with a focus on continuous improvement. It gives a brief history of the evolution of lean concepts, with a focus on lean accounting. This book guides the successful implementation and sustenance of lean and kaizen tools. The book addresses strategy and challenges for successful and sustainable implementation of a lean production system, daily management system and lean accounting system.

EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic & Business History
"EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field."
more...less...
"Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited. A distinguished Advisory Board recommends entry topics, assists in the selection of authors, and defines the project's scope."
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society
This encyclopedia contains entries describing social and ethical aspects of business, and the theory of business ethics.
more...less...
This encyclopedia contains nearly 900 entries about topics related to the social and ethical aspects of business. Entries cover theory (agency theory, stakeholder theory, corporate social responsibility), recent events (Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002), topics (consumers, environment), and people of historical significance to the field (Milton Friedman).
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns. Vol. 2
Contains 474 profiles on marketing campaigns that appeared between the late 1990s and 2005. Volume 1, available only in print, covers most of the 20th century. Located in the SSHL Reference collection, main floor of Geisel Library, HF5837 .E53 2000.
Global Corruption Report
Labour and Business History
Designed for labor and business historians, political and social scientists, economists and others with a historical interest.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
This longstanding, scholarly publication is the go-to place for background on any topic in economics, because its articles are written by experts who provide for each entry an overview of theory and the current state of research.
more...less...
The online edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics contains the full text of the 8 volume print edition. In addition, the online Dictionary is a dynamic resource for economists which contains hyperlinked cross-references within articles, features carefully selected and maintained links to related sites, incorporates quarterly additions and updates, and offers search and browse facilities, both full text and advanced.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Asian History on economics and business,
Call Number: Oxford e-book
History of business and economics in Asia
The Oxford Handbook of Diversity in Organizations by Regine Bendl, et al., eds.
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780199679805
Publication Date: 2016
The book presents the foundations of organizing and managing diversities, offers multidisciplinary, intersectional and critical analyses on key issues, and opens up fresh perspectives in order to advance the diversity debate. It also inspires new debates on diversity by encouraging scholars to broaden their research agendas and assists students and scholars to increase their understanding of the field and its current discussions. The contributors are a team of leading diversity scholars from all over the world.
Routledge Handbook of International Organization by Louis, Marieke ; Reinalda, Bob
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781003428138
Publication Date: 2025
This completely revised and rewritten handbook gives an overview of international organization (IO) as a dynamic field of research that adds to our understanding of global and regional relations and related domestic politics. It will be of particular interest to scholars and students of IOs, global governance, diplomacy and foreign policy, as well as practitioners of multilateral cooperation.

Westlaw Campus Research
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.

The Oxford Handbook of Banking and Financial History by Youssef Cassis (Ed)
Call Number: Oxford E-book
ISBN: 9780199658626
Publication Date: 2016
This volume approaches the banking and financial world from four distinct but interrelated angles: financial institutions, financial markets, financial regulation, and financial crises.
The Oxford Handbook of the Corporation by Thomas Clarke (Ed)
Call Number: Oxford E-book
ISBN: 9780198737063
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of the Corporation assesses the contemporary relevance, purpose, and performance of the corporation. The corporation is one of the most significant, if contested, innovations in human history, and the direction and effectiveness of corporate law, corporate governance, and corporate performance are being challenged as never before.