Selected subjects for easy browsing:
TIPS: Don't see your favorite topic listed above? You can search your own topics and titles by using UC Library Search. For best results, sign in to UC Library Search using SSO and your @ucsd.edu email address. To limit to the most recent ebooks, choose the radio button that says "UC San Diego Library Catalog" for your search, then filter the results to online only. Changing the results order from "relevance" to "date: newest first" will show the most recent additions to the ebook collection.
These two ebook collections are great for easy browsing on business-related topics.
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 45K books from O'Reilly and 200+ publishers, covering programming languages, cloud computing, software architecture, security, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and other IT topics, as well as business, data science and management, mathematics, science and engineering, and professional development/soft skills. OHE also has more than 10,000 videos and audiobooks, plus courses and curated playlists prepared by experts in their fields, and you can create your own shareable playlists.
O'Reilly for Higher Education does not use VPN. Select UC San Diego from the list of institutions, and then login using Single Sign On.
Note: Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of California campuses. No community use.
Healthcare Management: Global Perspectives by
The author takes a look at international perspectives in healthcare management and the way regional priorities, national income, and social factors are crucial to effective healthcare services. Readers learn about the skills to address issues and solve problems as a healthcare manager by understanding and appreciating the complex interrelationships of global health provision. The book compares and contrasts different healthcare systems.
Pharma Marketing and Pharmacoeconomics: Opportunities, Challenges, and the Way Forward by
Provides an overview of the pharmaceutical marketplace, discussing the economics involved in manufacturing, pharma policy setting and marketing strategies. Details about the economics of clinical trials, role of patents, overviews of marketing strategies adopted by selected pharma companies, the effects of consumer- and physician-targeted marketing, and new technologies applied to pharma marketing. International in scope with special attention to the BRIC health systems and pharma marketing in India.
The Champion Leader: Harnessing the Power of Emotional Intelligence to Build High-Performing by
The author explains how to prioritize one-on-one and team conversations focused on understanding employee needs, career development, and wellbeing to help foster a future-focused organization. He also walks you through how to maximize your emotional intelligence and enhance your leadership skills to assist in the development of a high-performing organization that delivers superior results
A Wall Street Guidebook for Journalism and Strategic Communication by
This book provides media professionals with the savvy they need to navigate the world of finance and money. The author, a former reporter at the Wall Street Journal, leads readers through case studies that provide real-world insight into how Wall Street operates and how to best approach the world of money and finance.
Get Growing: Get Clients, Grow Faster, and Spend Less Time Selling by
In Get Growing, Dean Seddon shows what works when it comes to sales and self-promotion. The founder of the fastest-growing business consultancy in the UK, Dean has helped thousands grow their brands and expand their reach, ranging from individual freelancers to corporations like Amazon, Mastercard, and Microsoft. This book offers a review of the basics and step-by-step guidance on leveraging social selling and personal branding to accelerate growth using simple and scalable methods.
HBR's 10 Must Reads on Collaboration (audiobook) by
Join forces with others inside and outside your organization to solve your toughest problems. If you read (or listen) to nothing else on collaborating effectively, listen to these ten articles. We've combed through hundreds of articles in the Harvard Business Review archive and selected the most important ones to help you work more productively with people on your team, in other departments, and in other organizations by leading experts such as Daniel Goleman, Herminia Ibarra, and Morten Hansen.
HBR Guide to Making Every Meeting Matter by
Your calendar is full, and yet your meetings don't always seem to advance your work. Problems often arise for a number of reasons. This audiobook will teach you using input from over twenty experts combined. It includes checklists, sample agendas, and follow-up memos. The book will help you improve how you set and communicate your meeting's purpose, invite the right people, prepare an achievable agenda, moderate a lively conversation, regain control of a wayward meeting and do follow-through without babysitting or haranguing.
Managing Up by
Your boss plays an important role in your career. So how do you navigate this delicate, significant professional relationship without playing political games or compromising your character? This book provides concise, expert tips on navigating the situation in order for everyone to be successful.
Management Communication, 7th ed by
This new edition is a case-based textbook that introduces the strategic communication methods that are crucial to master in order for be an effective and ethical manager at all levels of business. Chapters on intercultural communication, nonverbal communication, and conflict management provide readers with the skills to build relationships and influence stakeholders. This text provides a well-rounded understanding of management communication and the support material ensures it serves as a complete resource for instructors.
Seven Crashes: The Economic Crises That Shaped Globalization by
A leading economic historian presents a new history of financial crises. Examining seven turning points in financial history, the author shows how crashes prompted by a lack of supply, like the oil shortages of the 1970s, lead to greater globalization as markets expand and producers innovate to increase supply. By contrast, crises triggered by a lack of demand--such as the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-2008--result in less globalization as markets contract, austerity measures are imposed, and skepticism of government grows. By considering not only the times but also the observers who shaped our understanding of each crisis--from Karl Marx to John Maynard Keynes to Larry Summers--James shows how the uneven course of globalization has led to new economic thinking, and how understanding this history can help us better prepare for the future.
Challenging Economic Journalism: Covering Business and Politics in an Age of Uncertainty by
This book, inspired partly by journalism's failure to raise early warning flags in the run up to financial crises and by the rise of (economic) populism in recent years, puts forward a framework for economic journalism. It argues that that independent quality economic journalism is essential to the functioning of both the market and democracy but is under threat, and explores questions raised by the decline of media trust: what is the value of economic journalism? And how can journalists change their practices to counter this decline? The book takes a global approach with one chapter focusing on European integration and concludes with an outlook on the future of economic journalism, and the financing of journalism more widely.
How to Read Economic News: A Critical Approach to Economic Journalism by
Closely examining how the news media reports economic and financial matters, this book equips students with solid methodological skills for reading and interpreting the news alongside a toolkit for best practice as an economic journalist. Beginning by introducing major concepts such as financialised economic reporting, media amnesia and loss of trust, the book goes on to help students to interpret, understand and analyse existing news discourse and to identify subtle biases in news reports stemming from hegemonic belief systems. This is a key text for students and academics in the fields of financial journalism and critical discourse analysis who wish to approach the subject with a critical eye.
Switzerland and Its Banks: a short history by
Although this publication went to press before the 2023 failure of Credit Suisse, it provides background that can help interested readers better understand those developments. This book provides a history of Swiss banking not confined to stereotypical opinions about secret numbered accounts. Instead, the presented history covers other intriguing events and developments beyond the famous issue of banking secrecy and the corresponding scandals. Topics covered in the book include the early financial innovations by banks in Geneva to handle the sovereign risk on bonds issued in pre-revolutionary France, the monetary chaos that led to the creation of the Swiss franc, the nineteenth century, post WWI role as a financial safe haven, the golden age of Swiss banking when Zurich was briefly one of the largest financial centres in the world, and the recent global financial crisis.
Everybody Writes: your new and improved go-to guide to creating ridiculously good content, 2nd ed. by
A hands-on field guide to consistently creating page-turning content that your audience loves. In the newly revised and updated edition of Everybody Writes, marketer and author Ann Handley improves on her Wall Street Journal bestselling book that's helped hundreds of thousands become better, more confident writers.
The Age of Global Economic Crises (1929-2022) by
The frequency and repetition of economic crises over the last hundred years demands an analysis that allows us to discover the root causes of these situations and the problems they’ve generated in the world economy.
Asking Smarter Questions: how to be an agent of insight by
Insight is the superpower that drives innovation and enables us to understand the world from other peoples' points of view, be they customers or colleagues, advocates or competitors. This new book from data storyteller Sam Knowles explains how to ask smarter questions - questions that, by design, stimulate more useful answers. This is the shortcut to better productivity, fast-tracked innovation, and organizational success - for businesses, universities, charities, and governments.
Artificial Intelligence for Business: innovation, tools and practices by
This book seeks to build a shared understanding of Artificial Intelligence (AI) within the global business scenario today and in the near future. Drawing on academic theory and real-world case studies, it examines AI's development and application across a number of business contexts. This book will be of great interest to academics studying Digital Business, Digital Strategy, Innovation Management, and Information Technology.
Emotional intelligence for leadership effectiveness: management opportunities and challenges by 
Closing the Equity Gap: creating wealth and fostering justice in startup investing by 
Team Emotional Intelligence 2.0: the four essential skills of high performing teams by 
Supplier Diversity for Dummies by Our e-book content comes from a variety of vendors and each of their platforms looks and feels different.
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 45K books from O'Reilly and 200+ publishers, covering programming languages, cloud computing, software architecture, security, artificial intelligence and machine learning, and other IT topics, as well as business, data science and management, mathematics, science and engineering, and professional development/soft skills. OHE also has more than 10,000 videos and audiobooks, plus courses and curated playlists prepared by experts in their fields, and you can create your own shareable playlists.
O'Reilly for Higher Education does not use VPN. Select UC San Diego from the list of institutions, and then login using Single Sign On.
Note: Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of California campuses. No community use.
