Business: Operations Research

Use this guide as a first stop to finding and using the business and management related resources of the UC San Diego Library.

Operations Research Resources

This section includes a range of resources for studying operations research and related topics (supply chain management, scheduling, management information systems, mathematical optimization of business logistics, etc.). There are also some leads to careers in OR.

Articles & Databases for OR Research

Business Source Complete
BSC provides detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports. case studies and company profiles. It's strength is scholarly journals and business news. Journals that follow topics in investment banking include: Mergers & Acquisitions (a trade journal) and many academic journals, such as Journal of Applied Corporate Finance, Journal of Corporate Finance and Journal of Financial & Quantitative Analysis.
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines.
IEEE Xplore
1988-present [+ archives for select publications.] Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books.
INSPEC
A journal database published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology with coverage in the fields of physics, computing, control, information technology and engineering.
Mathscinet
An electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

Handbooks

The Green Six Sigma Handbook by Ron Basu
Call Number: Productivity Press e-book
ISBN: 1003268234
Publication Date: 2022
This book is a hands-on single-source reference of tools, techniques, and processes integrating both Lean and Six Sigma, providing up-to-date guidance on how to use these tools and processes in different settings, such as start-up companies and stalled projects, as well as establish enterprises where the ongoing drive is to improve processes, profitability, and long-term growth.
Handbooks in Operations Research and Management Science by Elsevier Handbooks
Call Number: Elsevier e-books
Publication Date: 2005-2007
Volumes 1-15 of this series provide review articles and overviews of the research on many topics: optimizaiton, stochastic modeling and computing, simulation, network models, inventory, supply chain management, logistics and production, transportation and financial engineering. Each article is written by experts in their areas, and provides conceptual background, technical details and references for further reading.
Handbook of Metaheuristics, 3rd ed. by Michel Gendreau & Jean-Yves Potvin, eds.
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9783319910857
Publication Date: 2018
This item provides broad coverage of the concepts, implementations, and applications in metaheuristics. Its chapters cover underpinning concepts and guides for implementation. The nature of metaheuristics invites an analyst to modify basic methods in response to problem characteristics, past experiences, and personal preferences, and the chapters in this handbook are designed to facilitate this process. This edition has been fully revised and features new chapters on swarm intelligence and automated design of metaheuristics from flexible algorithm frameworks.
Operations Research and Management Science Handbook by A. Ravi Ravindran
Call Number: Taylor & Francis ebook
ISBN: 9781420009712
Publication Date: 2008
Utilizing principles from mathematics, engineering, business, computer science, economics, and statistics, OR has developed into a full fledged academic discipline with practical application in business, industry and government.
Operations Research: Theory & Practice by N. V. S Raju
Call Number: CRC e-book
ISBN: 9780367366070
Publication Date: 2019
This book provides various concepts, theoretical and practical knowledge and develops the techno-managerial skills. It covers approaches of operations applicable to both industrial and institutional needs are presented.
The Oxford Handbook of Management Information Systems by Robert D. Galliers (Editor)
Call Number: Oxford ebook
ISBN: 9780199580583
Publication Date: 2011
Tis book takes a critical and interdisciplinary view of the increasing complexity of these systems within organizations, and the strategic, managerial, and ethical issues associated with the effective use of these technologies.

Standards

Quality Management Systems: a practical guide to standards implementation by Ray Tricker
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9780367223519
Publication Date: 2020
As a simple and straightforward explanation of QMS Standards and their current requirements, this is a guide for practitioners who need a comprehensive overview to put theory into practice, as well as undergraduate and postgraduate students studying quality management as part of broader Operations and Management courses.

Here are e-books on standards of Operation Research from UC Library Search:

Find More

UCSD Library Logo

Look up books in the UC Search:

For more books to help you along, try searching using the following subject terms:

You may also add the keyword phrases operations research or mathematical models to topics:

Featured Books

Lean sustainability: a pathway to a circular economy by Elizabeth A. Cudney, et al.
Call Number: CRC Press e-book
ISBN: 9780429506192
Publication Date: 2024
This book illustrates an integrated Lean and sustainability approach that is applicable to manufacturing, healthcare, service, and other industries. This comprehensive approach guides organizations toward competitive business practices while being environmentally, socially, and economically responsible.
Advanced manufacturing operations technologies : principles, applications, and design correlations in chemical engineering fields of practice by Sam A. Hout.
Call Number: CRC Press e-book
ISBN: 9781000903935
Publication Date: 2023
The book focuses on production and regulated applications in several industries. It covers fundamentals of controlled techniques, quality by design, risk assessment, and management and provides case studies for focuses on standard operating procedures, design, installation, and construction of manufacturing operations. It highlights established concepts and also covers the practices in manufacturing and safe clean energy systems.
Urban freight analytics: big data, models, and artificial intelligence by Eiichi Taniguchi, Russell G. Thompson, and Ali G. Qureshi
Call Number: CRC Press e-book
ISBN: 9781000933444
Publication Date: 2024
This graduate-level textbook in transport and logistics covers how emerging technologies within artificial intelligence, autonomous vehicles, and robots and drones, plus collaboration among stakeholders, can be used with data to model, plan and evaluate an efficient and sustainable urban freight transport system. It includes case studies from several global cities.
Engineering mathematics and artificial intelligence: foundations, methods, and applications by Herb Kunze, Davide La Torre, Adam Riccoboni, Manuel Ruiz Galán.
Call Number: CRC Press e-book
ISBN: 9781003283980
Publication Date: 2024
The authors explain the theory behind Machine Learning and show how Mathematics can be used in Artificial Intelligence. The book illustrates how to improve existing algorithms by using advanced Mathematics, and offers cutting-edge Artificial Intelligence technologies. It covers how machine learning can support mathematical modeling and how to simulate data by using artificial neural networks.
The Circular Supply Chain by Ifeyinwa Juliet Orji; Frank Ojadi
Call Number: CRC Press e-book
ISBN: 9781003252016
Publication Date: 2022
Organizations need to stay competitive and transition from a linear make-use-dispose supply chain model to a sustainable one. This book covers techniques and basic principles, historical developments and recent issues facing the adoption of a circular supply chain model.
Green Supply Chain Management by Haris Achillas; Dimitris Aidonis; Dionysis Bochtis; Dimitris Folinas
Call Number: Taylor & Francis E-book
ISBN: 9781315628691
Publication Date: 2018
One of the top priorities of an organization’s modern corporate strategy is to portray itself as socially responsible and environmentally sustainable. Green Supply Chain Management provides a strategic overview of sustainable supply chain management, shedding light on the theoretical background and key principles of the topic covering benefits and impact of green supply chain management and more.

Key Research Journals

INFORMS PubsOnline
See box to the left for details. Decision Analysis, Management Science and Organization Science are key academic journals in the field of management that frequently include PM-related content.

Professional Associations & Career Information

Association for Operations Management
APICS is the association for supply chain management and a not-for-profit international education organization, offering certification programs, training tools and networking opportunities to increase workplace performance
Informs Career Center
INFORMS is the largest society in the world for professionals in the fields of operations research (O.R.), management science and analytics.
American Society for Quality
ASQ is committed to providing enhanced expertise, professional networks, tools, and solutions to help our members advance their products, services, and industries. We provide professional training, certifications, and knowledge to members globally.

Vault Guide to Operations & Logistics Jobs, 2nd ed.
Call Number: Vault e-book
ISBN: 9781438191478
Publication Date: 2021
This book is a career planning resource that covers industry trends, employment and earnings statistics, and what employers look for in job candidates.
Vault Guide to Project Management Jobs, 2nd ed
Call Number: Vault e-book
ISBN: 9781438191508
Publication Date: 2021
This book is a career planning resource that covers industry trends, employment and earnings statistics, and what employers look for in job candidates. This edition specifically covers PM jobs in the fields of advertising and marketing, city administration, construction, information technology consulting, IT project management, internet developers, manufacturing, property and real estate management, real estate development, and transportation.