Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommend a Purchase
If UCSD Library doesn't own a book or journal that you think we ought to have, please fill out the purchase suggestion form or contact me.
For delivery of an article or book or report from another university library - use Circuit (borrow books from San Diego area libraries) or Interlibrary loan.
New books & e-books
Search for a subject or author or keyword in UC Library search - advanced search and choose Library Catalog.
Then limit your results to books published on or after 2020. Note that print books ordered in 2021 or series where we get all the books shipped are still being received with processing delays due to staffing shortages. Check the e-book publishers sites using strategy outlines in the e-books guide https://ucsd.libguides.com/ebooks/search Contact me if you cannot find a newer book.
Physics Article Databases
Use UC-eLinks to get to the full text of subscription-only articles & conference papers, if the Library licenses it. INSPIRE has links both to free article preprints and to UCSD-licensed articles.
arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
Preprints for physics, astronomy, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in physics, astronomy, computers & control, electronics & electrical engineering. Also good for conference proceedings. 1898-present.
INSPIRE - High-Energy Physics Literature Database This link opens in a new window
The database for particle physics literature.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, tech reports, books and theses in geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology, going back as far as 1669 for some topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to academic articles in all disciplines.
SciFindern (SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the chemical literature along with materials science. Requires username/password (information on creating an account
Physics & Astronomy E-Book Collections
The main e-book collections (not single titles) of interest to physics & astronomy researchers. Unless otherwise specified, books in these collections are also in the UCSD Libraries catalog, though the most recently published ones are generally available online 1-3 months before appearing in our catalog.
American Institute of Physics books covering a range of subjects from biophysics, condensed matter, energy, mathematical physics to materials science, nanotechnology, and optics & photonics. [2020- present]
Institute of Physics e-books
Expanding Physics (in-depth texts on key areas of physics) and Concise Physics (shorter texts focused on rapidly advancing areas)
Oxford University Scholarship e-books Physics
Browse and read over 400 e-books in physics and applied physics from Oxford University Press. UCSD also has over 150 e-books in Oxford mathematics collection.
Springer E-Books Collection-Physics
Thousands of books from 2005-present, plus older volumes in series like Lecture Notes in Physics. Search or browse, with chapters available as PDFs. Browse the titles or search full-text, and (for selected titles) purchase your own paperback copy for $25.
2017- . Over 700 e-books from CRC Press, Chapman & Hall, If you want an e-book from earlier years and it's not part of ENG, STATS, MATH, etc collections, the library can buy it.
Wiley Online Library Books- choose Subjects
Wiley offers many of their books online covering Physical Sciences & Engineering, Chemistry, Mathematics & Statistics, Computer Science, and more. The UC libraries have purchased many of the Wiley Interscience books for 2011-2020, and UCSD Library purchased selected individual e-books from prior years.
Almost 400 books from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics covering topics from math and applied math fields such as astronomy, atmospheric science, computer science, economics & finance, fluids, and physics.
E-Book collections for sciences and engineering including ENGnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, STATSnetBASE back to 2001. Click 'more info' icon to find out more about using these. Suggest physics titles from CRC by Recommending a Purchase.
Wireless & Off-Campus Access
Off-campus and on-campus/wifi access to most of the databases, ebooks, and journals licensed by the Library is restricted to UC San Diego students, faculty and staff.
VPN AnyConnect Client - Off-Campus Access
Follow the download and installation instructions for your operating system. IMPORTANT: when connecting, make sure to select 2 Step Secured - althruucsd for the group setting. Duo Two-Step Login required.
UCSD-PROTECTED Wireless Network
Use the UCSD-PROTECTED wifi network to access UCSD-licensed resources on your laptop, tablet, or smartphone anywhere on campus.
How do I get the article?
In most of our article databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: Get it at UC
That will take you to UC Library Search with the citation filled out, which then should show you if UC San Diego has the article or paper:
- Online, if available and links to the journal site or vendor site with full text
- In print including the Library Annex
- or you can Request on interlibrary loan if we don't have the article.
MathSciNet and Astrophysics Data System has their own Article (and Journal) links that in most cases will bring up the licensed UCSD accessible e-article or a freely available version.
Need more help? Ask a Librarian
Encyclopedias & Handbooks
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Read introductory articles from the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology & annual Yearbooks. Search encyclopedia or browse by subject to locate articles. Two users at a time allowed, so logout when done reading.
World of Science
Eric Weisstein's interactive encyclopedias of astronomy, chemistry, mathematics, physics, and scientific biography. Browse list of subjects/topics or search words/phrases.
The peer-reviewed, open access encyclopedia where knowledge is curated by communities of experts. Each article/entry is peer-reviewed.
Dictionary of pure and applied physics
Edited by Dipak Basu. CRC Press, ©2001
Springer Physics & Astronomy encyclopedias & reference handbooks
Over 45 specialized encyclopedias & handbooks covering topics such as particle detection; complexity; crystallography tables; acoustics; atomic, molecular and optical physics; condensed matter and materials data; and lasers & optics.
Net Advance of Physics
Review Articles and Tutorials in physics. Includes history of physics resources.