Marine Biodiversity & Conservation - MAS Program: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Comprehensive overview of biodiversity (including marine diversity), the services it provides, and the measures to protect it. Major themes among the 400+ articles: evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.

The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts. EOE content is mainly articles on topics, places, and biographies, plus international reports, brief definitions, and some eBooks, videos, and sound files. Topics covered range from biological diversity of living organisms, atmospheric sciences, biogeochemistry, oceanography, ecology, forestry, fisheries, marine biology, agriculture, aquaculture, to environmental engineering, environmental economics, and environmental sociology.

This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences —with topics ranging from climate variability, air-sea interactions, global climate change, greenhouse gases, to weather prediction and the impact of climate on the oceans. There are almost 350 articles and over 1,900 figures and photographs presented, many in full-color. This is a good resource for anyone interested in the fields of atmospheric, climate, and environmental sciences.

This comprehensive resource is a good place to start your research on all aspects of oceanography or marine sciences. For example, it includes authoritative information on marine biology, ecology, ecosystems, fisheries, marine policy, the impact of pollution and climate change, and the use of the oceans for food and energy. This is the Third Edition, revised & published in 2019.

This collection has over 500 marine and aquatic sciences full text handbooks. Easy to use and search interface and each book can be downloaded as PDF or read online. These books cover a variety of topics such as algae, biology & ecology of many sea creatures, marine ecosystems, fisheries, and marine toxicology.

This eBook deals with the emerging topic of geoprospective approach for ecosystems, a way to predict and assess for future risks and for identifying and addressing potential change impacts. The book's publisher, Elsevier, describes it as offering "an interdisciplinary perspective, tying in concepts and techniques from geography, including spatial analysis methods, modelling, and GIS, to address issues of ecological impacts of climate change, urban risk and resilience, land use changes, coastal impacts, and sustainable development and potential of adaptability. This book is a unique and integral resource for policy makers, environmental and territorial managers, scientists, engineers, consultants, and graduate students interested in anticipating future change in socio-ecosystems."

This book offers a broad understanding of the current methods and theory for sustainable exploitation of fisheries resources, and introduces recent findings and technological developments. It is divided into three parts: Part I discusses fish stock dynamics, such as the mechanisms underlying the variability in fish stocks that form the essential biological basis for fisheries management. Part II addresses the technologies and systems that monitor changes in fisheries resources and marine ecosystems. Part III examines management models for effectively assessing the natural variability in fisheries resources. Overall, this book offers readers a broad understanding of sustainable exploitation as well as insights into fisheries management for the next generation.

The second edition of this handbook was put together by "world-class editors and contributors who have been at the forefront of ecosystem health assessment research for decades", and it contains relevant sections such as Indices of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics, Species Richness, Ecosystem health of wetlands, estuaries, coastal zones, etc.

This book, published in 2020, is divided into sections & chapters written by specialists who cover such topics as progress on implementation of worldwide MPAs, policy & legal variations across MPAs, and the future of MPAs. The book publisher states that this book's key features are: "Provides a much needed ‘one stop shop’ for information on Marine Protected Areas. Presents chapters from a diverse group of contributors, enabling a broad and deep perspective. Includes case studies throughout, providing real-life examples and best practice recommendations.

This book provides a comprehensive account of marine conservation. It examines human use and abuse of the world's seas and oceans and their marine life, and the various approaches to management and conservation. Healthy marine ecosystems, the goods and services that they provide, are of vital importance to human well being. Also covered are conservation issues pertinent to major groups of marine organisms, such as sharks, marine turtles, seabirds and marine mammals; key habitats, from estuaries, wetlands and coral reefs to the deep sea; and from local and regional to international initiatives in marine conservation. A great resource for students, researchers and conservation professionals, the book covers the underlying marine biology and oceanography and how human activities impact marine ecosystems.