Skip to main content

Linguistics: Find, Create & Manage Citations

Choosing Citation Management Software

Used with permission (CC-BY) from the University of Michigan, with slight modification

                                         Does This Program Meet My Needs?

I want to …

EndNote

EndNote Web

Mendeley

Zotero

Capture info from web pages.


(install tool from EndNote Web)

Import information from databases.

Search a database or catalog from the program.

(catalog only)

Manage a collection of PDFs.

 but has  

Work with my collection without needing the Internet.

Work from multiple computers.

(sync with EndNote Web)

Work on a tablet, app, or mobile site.

(app now free)

(app now free)

(free app)

(free app)

Share my collection with others and have them add to it.

Not spend any money on this tool.

(Reduced cost $78.38)

 

(cost for more storage)

 

 

 

(cost for more storage & group functionality)

 

(cost for more storage)

Online Learning Videos & Tutorials   

EndNote Training Channel

 EndNote Training Channel  Mendeley Video Tutorials Zotero Tutorials

 

Finding Formatted Citations

UC-eLinks:

 

Available in all of our databases (and Google Scholar if you set up preferences) is the built-in citation tool for UC-eLinks. Choose from one of 5 bibliographic styles then copy & paste the text into a document.

 

 

Cite link:

Many databases and Google Scholar have a Cite link that will display an article's citation in one of many citation styles.  Look for it when viewing the details about an article.

 

As with any tool like these, is it not guaranteed to be accurate all of the time.  To be certain everything is perfect, consult the offical style manuals. 

Citation Generators & Guides

Citation generators are tools in which you type the information regarding the citation (instead of pulling directly from a database or catalog) - they usually have a form to help guide you in what information is needed - and then they format it into the style you need. 


Citation Tools for Any Type of Citation:

If you have the information about an article or book, you can use one of the tools below to put it in the right format.

Feedback

Is this page useful?
Absolutely!: 0 votes (0%)
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
Sort of: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Absolutely not!: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0