Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linguistics: Finding Articles & Journals

How to Find Articles


UC Library Search

Using UC Library Search to find articles is a great place to start. However, it does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database by clicking the "Databases" button underneath the UC Library Search box.

screenshot of UC Library Search and Databases button

 

Databases by Subject

After you click on the Databases button, you can find a list of all our databases and filter by subject.

screenshot of Databases A-Z webpage

UC Library Search Tips - Signing In

Here are a few tips for using the new UC Library Search:

 

Search from homepage, then Sign in.

After you enter a search, on the results page, you will see a yellow bar asking you to sign in. Signing in gives you the full options (requesting, etc).

screenshot of UC Library Search results page with request to Sign In

UC Library Search Tips - Availability

Filtering results by location.

IMPORTANT NOTE: To filter results to what is at the UC San Diego, select "UC San Diego Library" under the UC Libraries filter.

Selecting "Geisel Library" from the Libraries filter or "Held by Library" under the Availability filter will filter results to print resources only.

screenshot of UC Library Search results filters

List of Annual Reviews

To see a list of annual reviews for your discipline, use UC Library Search -  "[subject area] -- annual review".

screenshot of UC library search for annual reviews

Finding Reviews

Reviews of research (also called bibliographic essays or literature reviews)  are articles (or book chapters) which cite and summarize what has been published about a topic in recent years. Reviews are published in many sources: scholarly journals, yearbooks, subject encyclopedia-type "companions" and other publications. 

 

For busy students and scholars, reviews of research are useful shortcuts; use the reviews to gain an overview of a subfield and to quickly peruse summaries of the vast output of scholarly publications.

 

To find reviews of research that are published in journals, go to a database such as LLBA and enter search terms, then limit your search to reviews by selecting "Reviews" in the options under Document Type.

 

Other Annual Reviews:

UC Library Search Tips - Resource Type

Filtering by Resource Type.

Much like the functionality in the databases, you can filter UC Library Search results by resource type.

screenshot of UC Library Search filters by Resource Type

Browzine

Keep up with what is being published in your field by downloading Browzine.

Browzine allows you to browse, organize, read and keep up with your favorite scholarly journals licensed by UC San Diego.  You can use it on your desktop, laptop, or mobile device.

List of Journals

To see a list of all the journals for your discipline, use UC Library Search -  "[subject area] -- Periodicals".

screenshot of journal search

 

Searching for articles within a journal

Search for the journal title in UC Library Search, click on the resource, then look for "Search inside" on the left side (if available) to easily search for articles with a specific topic within that journal.

Getting Full Text Articles

 If you don't see either of these icons in a database:

Look for:

Get it at UC

 

It will automatically search where you can find the full text of an article.

It will either:

  • open up the article automatically, or
  • give a menu of links (either a full page or a side menu) where you can find the article

 

You then have 3 options:

- Choose any of the links to get the article online, if available
- See if the article is available in print (links out to the library catalog)
- Request via Interlibrary Loan, if we don't have it, free of charge.

 

When requesting you will need your Library ID number. It begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

 

Google Scholar and Full Text Access

1. Go to the Google Scholar homepage and click icon of 3 parallel bars in the top left corner of the screen.

2. Choose Settings or thegear icon in the top right of the menu.

3. Select Library Links from the left-side menu.

4. Search for University of California, San Diego - Get It at UC.

5. Click check box next to this option and Save.

When you search for articles, you will now see an extra column with additional links on the right.  Where you see Get it at UC, you may click it to view the Get it at UC menu from which you can get the full text through the library databases. From this menu, choose whichever online option is available.

(Note: If you are not logged into the VPN (see home page of this guide), when you choose an article, you will be asked to log in with your UCSD username and password and/or pay for access. Be sure to log into the VPN first.)

Recommended Databases

Dissertations and Theses

How to Find Dissertations and Theses

(1) In UC Library Search using "dissertations, academic -- UCSD -- [department or subject area]"

screenshot of search for dissertations in UC Library Search

(2) Use the database Dissertations and Theses (Proquest) to find dissertations at UCSD and other institutions.
(3) Don't see the one you need available, search the title (in quotation marks) in UC Library Search to request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Feedback

Is this page useful?
Absolutely!: 0 votes (0%)
Yes: 0 votes (0%)
Sort of: 0 votes (0%)
No: 0 votes (0%)
Absolutely not!: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 0