The UC San Diego Library provides access to many specialized subject databases for finding journal articles, as well as multidisciplinary and general databases. Those listed below are recommended for anthropology and related disciplines. For a more complete list of databases, listed alphabetically, see Databases A-Z .
Many databases are on platforms that will allow you to search more than one database at a time. For example, the Anthropology Plus database is on the EBSCO Host platform, which has many other databases that may be useful for your topic, such as Academic Search Complete. Just use the "Choose Databases" option in EBSCO Host to add other databases to your search. Similarly, the Proquest platform hosts not only Sociological Abstracts, but also dozens of other databases.
The place to start if you're looking for articles in anthropology or archaeology.
Full Text of Journals published by the American Anthropological Association
eHRAF Archaeology Cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. 
THE major database for biology.
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
AATA: Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
A service of the Getty Conservation Institute in association with the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
A huge collection of online books, articles and dissertations, organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.
Geology and related subjects, including archaeology.
1900-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Google Scholar (Advanced Search)
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984)
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA
Indexes articles, etc. in the field of linguistics, including sociolinguistics.
Abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered. Content is selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope. Coverage 1949-present.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
19th century-present. Incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles,newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, much more. Nearly 2 million records
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Major database which indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world published since 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,400 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
