Skip to main content
Summer 2020 Librarian Support
For Research Consultations, Reference Assistance, and Ebook Purchase Recommendations for Summer 2020.
Off-Campus Access to Journals, Ebooks, and Databases: Use AnyConnect VPN. When logging in, select the 2 Step Secured - althruucsd option (click to see an example). Duo two-step login also required.
- I can also help with VPN/remote access troubleshooting.
- On campus? Use the UCSD-Protected wifi network.
Resources to assist you with your organic compound infographic assignment.
ChemDraw - UC San Diego Registration
Register here to download ChemOffice/ChemDraw, using your ucsd.edu email address. UC San Diego campus license.
VPN (Cisco AnyConnect Client)
Download the VPN AnyConnect client on your computer, so you can access our online resources (ebooks, etc.) from off campus. Select your operating system and follow the installation instructions.
When you login to connect, set the Group option to 2-Step Secured - allthruucsd. Duo Two-Step Login required.
UCSD-Protected Wireless Network
To access our licensed resources on-campus, select the UCSD-Protected wifi network (not UCSD-Guest).
Finding Information About Your Compound (After Wikipedia)
More sources--journal articles, books, encyclopedias and websites if you need additional information about your compounds, beyond what's cited in the Wikipedia article. Check the Inspiration for Locating Chemicals page for more books and websites to help you find a compound.
Academic Search Complete
Good starting place, with articles from scholarly journals and popular sources like magazines and trade publications (which you can limit if you just want to see one group). Many of the articles are full-text in the database; otherwise use UC-eLinks to check for the article elsewhere.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
One of our core chemistry encyclopedias, Search or browse articles about organic compounds, including those related food, pharmaceuticals, and cosmetics. Subtopics may include history, uses, toxicology, and economics. The dates of the articles vary. Some may have been added or updated in the last 2-3 years, while some are considerably older.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Another one of our core reference works for chemistry, Ullmann's is similar to Kirk-Othmer. You'll find articles about organic compounds (including food and health/beauty products), with some updated fairly recently. Ullmann's has a more European focus.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Dictionary with brief definitions for organic compounds (descriptions, uses, etc). Instead of searching the entire book, just go to the PDF for starting letter of your chemical.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)
Free database from the National Library of Medicine. While the emphasis is on safety-related information for these compounds, you'll also get information about physical properties and uses.
Database of information 11,500 significant chemical compounds. Includes uses, basic properties, and key references to the literature (when it was first isolated, synthesized, etc).