A few databases focus specifically on the discipline called Communication. But the interests of scholars in this field go into so many different areas you should also look at the rest of this page. Further down are databases that cover many disciplines at one time. The column on the right includes databases for other subject disciplines that also interest Communication scholars. Let us know if we've left anything out.
NOTE: Besides journal articles, many of these databases also include other research materials such as dissertations and conference proceedings.
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
NOTE: Institution-wide access to this resource will end on December 31, 2025. 1963-present. Abstracts articles, reports, papers, books from a variety of publishers and research institutions in all areas of communication studies (mass, interpersonal and new communication technologies).
Combine journals from all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts; also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Covers scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Content spans more than two centuries and includes multiple languages. Also try the much larger Periodicals Index Online.
Index to millions of articles published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Includes multiple languages.
Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, and analyst reports. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. To use personalized account features, connect to VPN and log in to www.nexisuni.com instead.
These concentrate on specific disciplines and fields of study, usually covering a larger number of publications than more general databases. They include Anthropology, Business, Education, Ethnic & Gender Studies, Film, History, Information Science, Law & Public Policy, Psychology, Sociology. Have we left anything out?
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
