International Government Information: World Bank

The World Bank is an international financial institution that provides loans and grants to the governments of low- and middle-income countries for the purpose of pursuing capital projects. Established in 1944 at the Bretton Woods Conference, it initially focused on rebuilding Europe after World War II, but now its reach is global. The World Bank's mission is to reduce poverty and support development by providing financial and technical assistance for a wide range of projects, including infrastructure, education, and health. The World Bank offers low-interest loans and grants, which help developing countries achieve their development goals, but it has been criticized for causing high debt in some developing countries, which can lead to long-term financial dependency

World Bank Research Guides

UC Berkeley Research Guide: International Economic Organizations: World Bank

World Bank Data & Statistics

World Bank DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators...
more...less...
Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Poverty and Equity, Doing Business, IDA Results Measurement System, Millennium Development Goals, Quarterly Public Sector Debt, Joint External Debt Hub, Job, Global Economic Prospects, Africa Development Indicators, Population estimates and projections, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics by Wealth Quintile, Landmine Contamination Casualties and Clearance (LC3D), Enterprise Surveys, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Exporter Dynamics Database, Arica Development Entrepreneurship, Remittance Prices Worldwide, Sustainable Mobility for All, PPPs Regulator Quality, Human Capital Index, World Bureaucracy Indicators, Logistics Performance Index (LPI), Health Equality and Financial Protection Indicators (HEFPI), Global Financial Inclusion and Consumer Protection Survey, Economic Fitness, Environment Social and Governance (ESG) Data, MIX Market, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2011, Wealth Accounts, Economic Fitness, Africa Infrastructure, International Debt Statistics (formerly Global Development Finance), Global Bilateral Migration, UNCTAD - Trade Analysis Information System (TRAINS), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2005, Global Financial Inclusion, The Atlas of Social Protection: Indicators of Resilience and Equity, Country Policy and Institutional Assessment, Global Partnership for Education, Global Financial Development, G20 Financial Inclusion Indicators, ESCAP World Bank: International Trade Costs, Sustainable Energy for All, Service Delivery Indicators, Adjusted Net Savings, Indonesia Database for Policy and Economic Research, Subnational Malnutrition, LAC EQUITY LAB, India Power Sector Review Database, Country Partnership Strategy for India (FY2013-17), Agriculture in Africa – Telling Facts from Myths, National Poverty Line - Subnational Poverty, Quarterly External Debt Statistics GDDS, Quarterly External Debt Statistics SDDS, Subnational Population
World Bank Open Data
Public access to global development data including World Development Indicators and hundreds of datasets, including microdata and embeddable data visualizations.
World Bank Microdata Library
Collection of datasets from the World Bank and other international, regional and national organizations

World Development Indicators
Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

World Bank Documents & Publications

The World Bank makes some of its work freely available online. Search for World Bank and other Intergovernmental Organization documents with Google

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository, from which anyone can freely access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.

World Bank Documents & Reports
The Documents & Reports (D&R) site is an official disclosure mechanism for the World Bank Group’s final reports. The repository contains official documents and reports which are made available to the public in accordance with the Bank’s Access to Information Policy to better share the institution's knowledge base. The D&R site contains final and official documents and reports from 1946 through the present.
World Bank Group (WBG) Archives
The institutional memory of the WBG providing public access to its documentary heritage. Digitized materials and engaging discovery tools include Country Historical Profiles and a Historical Timeline.

Policy Commons (Global Think Tanks + North American City Reports)
One-stop access to more than 30 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations worldwide including think tanks, IGOs, NGOs, and more than six hundred North American cities and urban agencies.
Faculty, staff, and students may also register direct Global Think Tanks personal accounts with UCSD domain email address for full remote access rights.