Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia. Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
Film Literature Index This link opens in a new window
1976-2001. The Film Literature Index Online, (1976-2001) was retired effective 12/6/2021. You can now access the FLI through EBSCO Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides 24-page previews. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
More Resources on English Language Literature
CAJ, China Academic Journals by CNKI 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from a large number of Chinese journals from 1994 on
Subscription includes 4 series: (F)Literature, History, and Philosophy, (G)Politics, Military Affairs, and Law, (H) Education, and the Social Sciences, and (J) Economics and Management
CJP, Century Journals Project 世纪期刊 This link opens in a new window
With over 100 journals in the social sciences published prior to 1993
Dragonsource 龙源期刊网 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to about 1,000 online Chinese popular magazines for general reading
Hong Kong Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Access to select academic and professional journal published in Hong Kong, in Chinese and English
A full-text image database
Hong Kong Literature Database 香港文學資料庫 This link opens in a new window
Full-text available for major part of the database
Coverrage includes literary columns form Hong Kong nespapers, journal articles, literary books held at the CUHK Library, and theses
National Social Sciences Database 国家哲学社会科学学术期刊数据库 This link opens in a new window
Sign-in needed to view and download contents
Includes close to 600 social science journals, covering subject areas in philosophy, religion, politics, law, economics, management, culture, education, languages and linguistics, literature, arts, history, geography, and general natureal sciences
National Taiwan University Journal Database 臺灣大學學術期刊資料庫 This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals published by the National Taiwan University since 2002
TEPS, Taiwan Electronic Periodicals Services 台灣電子期刊服務網 This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text (PDF) of periodicals published in Taiwan
Covers the humanities, social, natural, applied, medical and life sciences
Interface available in Chinese and English
Wanfang Data 万方数据 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to five databases
- COJ, China Online Journals
- DOC, Dissertations of China
- ACIC, Academic Conferences in China
- PLOC, Policies and Laws of China
- CECDB, Chinese Companies and Products