LibGuides: UC San Diego Campus & San Diego Community Information: UCSD/UC Campus Information

Information to Keep in Mind...

It's important to try to figure out WHO would have created the information you are looking to find. For example, which specific UCSD campus offices might have gathered and reported the data or report you are looking for.

After identifying offices of interest, you should closely review their websites. You may be able to find mission and vision statements, annual reports, statistics, newsletters, and more.
If a more specific department website does not have what you need, you might need to try their parent department, or keep going further up the organizational line. Organizational charts can help with this.
Search UC Library Search to locate additional reports and resources created by or about UC San Diego.
Administrative records of various campus units may eventually come to the library, but they would generally only come to the library after 5 years or more.
- You can find the list of collections of records the library holds on the Special Collections & Archives website. We strongly recommend you review the "Library Collections" page of this guide FIRST, before diving into using the archival collections held in Special Collections.

In looking for statistics, policies, and other information, keep in mind that you may need to review websites of UC San Diego, University of California, and the UC Office of the President.

UCSD Campus Resources

UC San Diego Archived Websites

Main website
Annual Financial Reports
Community Centers, Cultural Organizations, and Student Resource Centers
Campus Profile
- overview of campus, including rankings and links to "fast facts."
The Guardian
History of UC San Diego
Institutional Research
Office for Equity, Diversion, and Inclusion
- Accountability Dashboards, Reports, & Surveys
- Principles of Community
Office of the Chancellor
Office of the Vice Chancellor - Student Affairs and Campus Life
Strategic Plan Report
Student Surveys
Stuart Collection
The Triton
UC San Diego History
- Part of the library's digital collections. Includes photographs, student newspapers, oral histories, campus news releases, news clippings, and publications that document the development and history of the campus.
UC San Diego Archived Websites
- A searchable collection of archived UC San Diego websites, including those documenting campus administration and news, the various colleges' websites, and selected departmental and programmatic pages, including the Stuart Collection and Women's Center.
UCSD + Local SD Coronavirus Web Archive
- A searchable collection of archived websites dedicated to COVID-19. These consist of primarily UCSD websites, but also UC and San Diego County sites as well. These sites are being captured weekly.
UCSD Racial Tension Spring 2010 Web Archive
- A collection of news articles, videos, and blogs reporting on and reacting to a series of racially-charged incidents that occurred at UCSD, especially an incident in Geisel Library, in Spring 2010. Some articles detail actions taken by student groups and the University to address campus climate and diversity-related concerns following the events.

UC Resources

UC Financial Reports
UC Institutional Research & Academic Planning
- Student Data
UC Office of the President (UCOP)
- Presidential Policies
UCOP Annual Reports
- includes reports from different departments/offices within UCOP
California Master Plan for Higher Education
University of California

Better Google Searching

Your research will likely include some web searching, as you look for organizations, offices, government agencies, news sources, or other material. There are several little "tricks" you can use to search Google more effectively and efficiently -- take a look at this Google tips page and save yourself some time and effort.

Sample Google Search:

(diversity OR inclusion OR equality) (policy OR guidelines) (site:ucsd.edu OR site:.ucop.edu OR site:universityofcalifornia.edu)

Statistics

Check out these library guides to help find education-related statistics