Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Scholarly Articles

Finding Journals

If you have a specific article you are looking for, or want to know if UCSD subscribes to a specific journal, it is easiest to use the Journal Search.

Types of Journal Content

See the ASME Journal Submission Types page for descriptions of each type of content listed below.

Research paper
Technical brief
Design innovation paper
Review article
Expert view

Reviews

Journals

Subject Databases

AIAA (Aerospace Research Central)
Full-text access to the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) meeting papers from 2001-2022, and most of the journals, including AIAA Journal, from 1980 to present.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective
1913-1983. Provides a single resource for seven decades of articles on the most important events, issues & trends in the history of business & industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science & technology for the 20th Century. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective 1913-1983.
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
IEEE Xplore
NEW Image Search feature. Learn more.
1988-present [+ archives for select publications.]

Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books (later titles on Wiley). Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers is a feature.
Tip: The default in IEEE Xplore is to search metadata only, which includes abstracts, indexing terms, and bibliographic citation information. To do a full-text search, go to the Advanced Search page and select "Full text & Metadata" from the drop-down list.
Inspec
Indexes 16+ million journal articles and conference papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science. Also good for related disciplines like geophysics, astronomy, mechanical engineering, biomedical engineering, ocean engineering, and acoustics. Indexes IEEE conference papers and standards. ****You can now cross search with Compendex for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate results can be removed.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
SAE Mobilus
Standards, books, journals, tech reports, and research reports covering the mobility industry (ground and air), from the Society of Automotive Engineers. Book access goes back to 2022, journals back to 2023, and tech reports back to 2010. Standards cover ground and aerospace vehicles, and aerospace material specifications.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

Preprint Servers

engrXiv
engrXiv is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.
MobilityRxiv
Provided by SAE International, the SAE MobilityRxiv™ is a free online archive and sharing service for English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field, including ground vehicles, commercial vehicles, and aerospace and aviation.