Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Books

Print Books

Aerospace engineering titles can be found in the following call number ranges:

TL1-4050 Motor vehicles. Aeronautics. Astronautics.

TL1-484 Motor vehicles. Cycles
TL500-777 Aeronautics. Aeronautical engineering
TL780-785.8 Rocket propulsion. Rockets
TL787-4050 Astronautics. Space travel

Mechanical engineering titles can be found in the following call number ranges:

T351 Engineering graphics
T353 Engineering design. Engineering graphics
TA174 Engineering design
TA349-359 Mechanics of engineering. Applied mechanics
TA405 Strains and stresses. Strength of materials. Mechanics, applied
TA407 Strains and stresses
TA409 Fracture mechanics. Materials fatigue
TA417-418 Deformations (mechanics). Mass transfer. Materials fatigue. Rheology
TF200 Railroad engineering

TJ1-1570 Mechanical engineering and machinery

TJ163.13-163.25 Power resources
TJ163.26-163.5 Energy conservation
TJ170-179 Mechanics applied to machinery. Dynamics
TJ181-210 Mechanical movements
TJ210.2-211.47 Mechanical devices and figures. Automata. Ingenious mechanisms. Robots (General)
TJ212-225 Control engineering systems. Automatic machinery (General)
TJ227-240 Machine design and drawing
TJ241-254.7 Machine construction (General)
TJ255-265 Heat engines
TJ266-267.5 Turbines. Turbomachines (General)
TJ268-740 Steam engineering
- TJ603-695 Locomotives
TJ751-805 Miscellaneous motors and engines Including gas, gasoline, diesel engines
TJ807-830 Renewable energy sources
TJ836-927 Hydraulic machinery
TJ940-940.5 Vacuum technology
TJ950-1030 Pneumatic machinery
TJ1040-1119 Machinery exclusive of prime movers
TJ1125-1345 Machine shops and machine shop practice
TJ1350-1418 Hoisting and conveying machinery
TJ1425-1475 Lifting and pressing machinery
TJ1480-1496 Agricultural machinery. Farm machinery
TJ1501-1519 Sewing machines

E-books

UC Library Search
This is the easiest way to find any electronic books that UCSD provides access to. Go to our library catalog, where you can limit any search to "books" and "available online."

Access Engineering
Database of McGraw-Hill engineering handbooks, textbooks, and videos, plus interactive graphs, downloadable tables, and a data visualization tool for properties of materials. Covers all engineering disciplines, but heaviest in chemical, electrical, materials, mechanical, and structural engineering. Includes standard reference works like Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, as well as the Civil Engineering PE Exam Guide and Practice Exams, and about 30 Schaum's Outlines.

ENGnetBase
Collection of over 4,320 books online, ENGnetBASE provides access to the latest handbooks in civil, mechanical, electrical, industrial, and mining engineering.

Knovel
11,000+ books, encyclopedias, and databases for chemistry, earth sciences, and all engineering disciplines across multiple publishers. Along with full-text searching and downloading of PDF chapters, you can also search for properties of chemicals and materials and then export that data in table/graph form rather than PDFs.

National Academies Press
Access to full-text PDFs of books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

O'Reilly for Higher Education
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38K computer science, engineering, business book titles from 200+ publishers. Plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Includes pre-publication titles published by O'Reilly.
Access with Single Sign On after choosing University of California San Diego from the list of institutions.

Note: Access is limited to current students, staff, and faculty at the University of California campuses. No community use.
Titles are html only.
Replaces the Safari Tech Books Online collection.
SpringerLink
Full-text searching across the ebooks, ebook series, journals, and major reference works published by Springer. Note: We don't license everything from Springer. If the article or chapter is not accessible, check UC Library Search for a print copy, or to request the item from another library.

Selected Books

ASM Handbooks Online
The site includes the full text of the current ASM Handbook series (38 volumes), two ASM Handbook archive volumes, and two ASM Desk Editions volumes. The ASM Digital Library was launched in 2018 to provide discoverable, convenient, and interactive access to content on metals and alloys and other engineered materials.

AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide by E. Russ Althoff; Charles R. Dauwalter
Call Number: Geisel Floor1 East, Books TL551 .A32 2012
ISBN: 9781600869129
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Biomimicry for Aerospace by Vikram Shyam (Editor); Marjan Eggermont (Editor); Aloysius F. Hepp (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9780128210741
Publication Date: 2022-02-21
Encyclopedia of Computational Mechanics by Erwin Stein; René De Borst (Editor); Thomas J. R. Hughes (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0470846992
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology by Subhash Mahajan (Editor-In-Chief); K. H. J Buschow (Editor-In-Chief); Robert Cahn (Editor-In-Chief); Merton C. Flemings (Editor-In-Chief); Bernhard Ilschner (Editor-In-Chief); Edward J. Kramer (Editor-In-Chief); Patrick Veyssiere (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Electronic Book; Geisel Floor1East, Books TA402.E53 2001
ISBN: 0080523587
Publication Date: 2001-09-19
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Calculations, Second Edition by Tyler G. Hicks
Call Number: Electronic Book; Geisel Floor1 East, Books TJ151 .H327 2006
ISBN: 9780071458863
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Machinery's Handbook by Erik Oberg; Franklin D. Jones; Holbrook Horton; Henry Ryffel; Christopher McCauley
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0831137312
Publication Date: 2020-03-01
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Ali M. Sadegh; William M. Worek
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9781259588501
Publication Date: 2017-11-08
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook by Myer Kutz (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9781118985960
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by Karl-Heinrich Grote (Editor); Hamid Hefazi (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9783030470340
Publication Date: 2021-05-10
Standard Handbook for Aerospace Engineers, Second Edition by Brij N. Agrawal; Max F. Platzer
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9781259585173
Publication Date: 2018-02-26