Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: Properties of Materials

Property data for millions of compounds can be found in the CAS Registry substance records, under Experimental Properties. Categories include: acoustic, biological, chemical, density, electrical, electronic, flow/diffusion, interface, Lipinski, magnetic, magnetooptical, mechanical, optical and scattering, structure-related, and thermal. In many cases, you'll find the actual value with an associated literature reference, and if not, you'll at least get the reference where you can find the value. You can also search for potential compounds by specific values and/or ranges for ~30 properties. For properties of groups of compounds, you could also try a topic search, like enthalpy of halogenated benzenes or mechanical properties of carbonitrides.
First-time users will need to register (VPN required if off-campus).

Several hundred properties for millions of compounds. From the substance record, go to "Physical Data" for an A-Z list of available properties, the values, and one more references to the chemical literature where that data was reported. Additional conditions may also be listed. Along with the substance search, you can also use the Query Builder to identify potential compounds based on one ore more properties (values and ranges). Some older references to inorganic compounds may point instead to the Gmelin Handbooks, which we have on site in Geisel 1 East.

NOTE: Institution-wide access to this resource will end on December 31, 2025.
6,900+ books, encyclopedias, and databases for chemistry, earth sciences, and all engineering disciplines across multiple publishers, with numeric data from the sources extracted and searchable.

• From Material Property Search, enter your material or chemical, then browse and select from the list of available properties grouped by category (electrical, mechanical, thermal/thermodynamic, etc.). Data are presented in interactive, downloadable tables and, in some cases, interactive graphs.

Gateway to several major chemical databases for physical property data, structures, and chemical names/synonyms. Includes the CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, the Combined Chemical Dictionary (organic, inorganic, organometallic, natural products, drugs), Properties of Organic Compounds, and Polymers: a Property Database.

Databases of information about the bioactivity of small molecules: Compound (validated and non-redundant), Substance, and Bioassay. Compound records are more detailed than the substance records, with properties, drug information, safety and toxicity information, and links to additional databases and websites.