Mathematics & Statistics: Encyclopedias / Handbooks

Provides a comprehensive and accessible account of statistical terms, methods, and applications, it enables readers to gain a quick insight into the subject, regardless of their background. This work serves to refresh and expand the knowledge of researchers, managers, and practitioners, highlighting the relevance and applicability of statistics across various fields, from economics and business to healthcare and public policy. [2nd ed, 2025]

Open access encyclopedia with 8,000+ entries. New and updated articles, as well as original articles from the 2002 Encyclopaedia of Mathematics" published by Kluwer and Springer prior to that. [updating, so dates vary]

Eric Weisstein's encyclopedia is a comprehensive & interactive tool for students, educators, math enthusiasts & researchers. Like the vibrant & constantly evolving discipline of mathematics, it is continuously updated to include new material/discoveries. [continually updated]

Examines the interaction of visual, computational and experimental approaches in modern mathematics through its interaction with data.The interaction of visualization, computation and experimental mathematics is covered with forays into problems at the intersection of biology, sports, epidemiology, physics, information theory and mathematics both pure and applied. [2023]

Covers the full range of statistical techniques and tools required by engineers, analysts and scientists from all fields. Topics arranged by fundamentals, process monitoring and improvement, reliability models and survival analysis, advanced statistical methods and modeling, statistical computing and data mining, and applications in engineering statistics. [2nd ed, 2023]

Covers fundamentals of coding theory, as well as families of codes and applications. Topics include: cyclic codes, convolutional codes, group algebra codes, few-weight codes, algorithmic techniques, quantum coding, space-time codes and more. [2021]

Articles that show the origins, unification, and points of similarity between different disciplines and mathematics. [2021]

Covers all aspects of mathematics education through 500+ articles, from short descriptions to in-depth pieces. [2020]

Short, interconnected articles on a variety of active areas in knot theory. [2021]

An introduction homotopy theory, with coverage of axiomatic to applied, from foundational to computational, and includes surveys of applications both geometric and algebraic. [2020]

Provides advice on all aspects of scientific writing, with a particular focus on writing mathematics. Its readable style and handy format, coupled with an extensive bibliography and comprehensive index, make it useful for everyone from undergraduates to seasoned professionals. [3rd ed, 2020]

Embraces the history, diversity and wide range of topics relating to operator theory through interconnected sections
Describes multiple applications and connections with other fields of mathematics, physics and engineering. [2016]

Comprehensive reference work covering applied and computational mathematics. Emphasizes the strong links of applied mathematics with major areas of science, such as physics, chemistry, biology, and computer science, as well as specific fields like atmospheric ocean science. [2015]

Single-volume reference book on applied mathematics (modeled on Princeton Companion to Mathematics). Featuring numerous entries by leading experts and organized thematically, it introduces readers to applied mathematics and its uses; explains key concepts; describes important equations, laws, and functions; looks at exciting areas of research; covers modeling and simulation; explores areas of application; and more. [2015]

This text features nearly 200 entries which introduce basic mathematical tools and vocabulary, trace the development of modern mathematics, define essential terms and concepts and put them in context, explain core ideas in major areas of mathematics, describe the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians, and much more. [2008]

Reference to support the development and use of statistical methods for addressing the problems and critical issues that confront scientists, practitioners and policy makers engaged in the life and medical sciences. [2nd ed, 2005]

The book presents in a lucid and accessible form classical areas of mathematics like algebra, geometry and analysis and also areas of current interest like discrete mathematics, probability, statistics, optimization and numerical analysis. It concentrates on definitions, results, formulas, graphs and tables and emphasizes concepts and methods with applications in technology and science. [5th ed, 2004]

[2nd ed, 2003]