It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام, “The Pyramids”) is one of the longest-running newspapers in the Middle East. It has long been regarded as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world, with a circulation of over 1 million. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication and was renowned for its objectivity and independence. After being nationalized by President Nasser in 1960, Al-Ahram became the de facto voice of the Egyptian government and today the newspaper is managed by the Supreme Council of Press. Coverage:1876-2014.
Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises out-of-copyright, orphaned content, and includes titles such as Al-Iqbal (Lebanon), Al Akhaa al Watani (Iraq), Tangier Gazette (Morocco) and La Vérité (Algeria). Our access includes runs of five in-copyright titles: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).
Current titles in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection include:
Al Akhaa al Watani (الاخاء الوطني), Iraq, Arabic, 1931-1963
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Lebanon, Arabic, 1958-1972
Al Balad (البلد), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Fayha (الفيحاء), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Hawadith (الحوادث), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Insha (الانشاء), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Islah (الإصلاح), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1959
Al Jabal (الجبل), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Tarbiyah (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al-Iqbal (الإقبال), Lebanon, Arabic, 1902-1909
Asa Al Jannah (عصا الجنة), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Attakaddoum (التقدم), Algeria, French/Arabic, 1923-1931
Baghdad News, Iraq, English, 1964-1967
Baghdad Times, Iraq, English, 1918-1923
Dou-El-Fakar (ذو الفقار), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1914
El Farouk (الفاروق), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1921
El-Mountakid (المنتقد), Algeria, Arabic/French, 1925
La Vérité, Algeria, French/Arabic, 1934-1935
Tangier Gazette: Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa & Morocco, Morocco, English, 1927-1933
Tangier Gazette and Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa, Morocco, English/French, 1949-1950
Tangier Gazette and Morocco Mail, Morocco, English, 1934-1940
Tarik Al Jihad (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1950
The Iraq Times, Iraq, English/Arabic, 1948-1964
Times of Mesopotamia, Iraq, English, 1921-1924
New titles will continue to be added to the collection, which will ultimately include over thirty newspaper titles and approximately 500,000 pages of content.
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many theses are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.
Arts & Humanities Collection Strategist and Visual Arts Librarian
UC San Diego has purchased all OHO subject content released through 2020, over 1000 titles spanning Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sociology.
Complete title list: https://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/fileasset/TitleListforSales_July2020.xlsx
Search or browse dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Covers all aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic). It is interdisciplinary in scope, and supports study and research in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and related fields.
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan.
1941-1996. Translations by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television. Scanned from print Daily Report issues covering areas such as China, East Asia, Latin America.
A significant collection of diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles that addresses the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Commercial interests are also scrutinized, with in-depth analyses of Middle East nations’ economic stability and reviews of international arm sales policies. The activities of oil producing nations such as Saudi Arabia are closely monitored, with particular reference to the Gulf States and members of OPEC.
Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources. Also lists documents for sale.
Almandumah is a comprehensive full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It includes almost one million items, including about 1900 unique Arabic journals, 2500 conferences, and 200,000 dissertations from the Arab world. [1920 - Present]
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Major database which indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world published since 1906. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,400 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Online collection of streaming video, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
Docuseek2 is the internet site where one can discover, access, license, stream and share over 1500 documentary and social issues films and videos. Topics covered include business and economics, health care, humanities, performing arts, and social sciences..