It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Financial Times is a leading international newspaper that is well-known for its world business, politics and economics news, as well as its data visualizations. Read more about its journalistic standards and Editorial Code here.
Current UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff may now create a free personal account to access the Financial Times via the publisher's direct platforms.
(Enter your active UCSD email address; please use a different password than your AD login one, for data security. Successful authentication will lead to the actual FT.com user account registration site.)
Note: we plan to changeover to SSO authentication for all users in January 2023.This link opens in a new windThis link opens
You have a few choices now, since our FT.com subscription enables access to Financial Times in Factiva and Nexis Uni (as well as via Bloomberg terminals, a package which is limited to access by the Master of Finance Program within the Rady School of Management). Links below.
Which one should you use?
Choose based on your research need. The native FT.com interface is great, but these interfaces have bonus features that help researchers, such as covering broader contents, and enhanced search engine features that can allow for more complex searches. See descriptions below to help you pick..
Search across all FT content (1981- present), plus Factiva provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese. Great for searching precisely across all FT editions and multiple news sources simultaneously.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Covers Financial Times (print 1982 - present); FT Online edition (2006 - present). Additionally, Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Best for searching across FT and a variety of English- and non-English-language news sources. Additional depth in legal news and broadcast news transcripts.
Has browsing-by-issue and power searching across all content features; text only; includes downloadable audio format. Note: does not have the most current 30 days of content.
Switching Your Account
Do you already have a paid FT.com account? Contact email@example.com and copy Carolina Mussi (carolina.mussi at ft.com)
Access is for current students, faculty and staff of UC San Diego
You must use your @ucsd.edu email address to register
You may not share your account with anyone else
You may only share content as permitted by the tools embedded in the FT.com site
NO ARTICLE FULL-TEXTS may be uploaded to, or posted in, Canvas.
FT.com resources are intended for your personal, educational use. Commercial use is not permitted.
No sharing content with non-UC San Diego people for a fee
Tips for Canvas and/or working in teams:
You MAY POST A LINK in Canvas, but not the full-text content. Using the link means everyone signs in to read with their own FT.com account.
To get the link, use the article's Share button and select the "FT Subscribers Only" link (preferred), or use the link in the address bar
The content may differ slightly between FT.com and e-paper edition of the same article
FT content is provided for general information or entertainment purposes, and should not be taken as a recommendation, endorsement or advice, and should not be relied upon for making decisions for purchasing, investments, sales, etc. FT recommends that you always should use appropriate other advice before making any such decisions.
NOTE: The Library reserves the right to deactivate user accounts, if they are not complying with copyright terms. If you have ANY questions about copyright or educational use, please contact Adele Barsh, who will help you. (abarsh at ucsd.edu).
Accessibility - all pages on the FT.com site are accredited accessible, conforming to level AA of the WCAG 2.1 guidelines, as verified by the Digital Accessibility Centre.This site was tested and found to be accessible to people using keyboard-only control, screen reader access on desktop and mobile, screen magnification and high-contrast mode. Some of the sub-domains are undergoing improvements. Video content includes closed captioning (with the caveat that videos older than 2016 may not all be captioned). FT is trialing a 3rd party tool for transcripts on podcasts. FT has a Voluntary Product Accessibility Template document in place spelling out its plan and progress to meeting accessibility standards.