POLI 160AA/USP 101: Policy Analysis (Summer 2025): International Statistics & Background

UC Library Search - search all of the UC's library collections
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections, including documents, reports, and other publications from IGOs, NGOs, and governments. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), and datasets and primary resources, archives, and special collections

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.
EIU Viewpoint
NOTE: Institution-wide access to China Focus City Data ends on 8/31/25. EIU Viewpoint Country Analysis Advanced module contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities

WORLD Policy Analysis Center
WORLD Policy Analysis Center provides access to maps, data and global research resources on policies from around the world
Rand - policy analysis by geography
The RAND Corporation is a research organization that develops solutions to public policy challenges to help make communities throughout the world safer and more secure, healthier and more prosperous. RAND is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and committed to the public interest.
World Social Protection Report 2024-26: Universal social protection for climate action and a just transition
The World Social Protection Report 2024-26 focuses on the climate crisis and the need to transition to a more sustainable world, and provides a global overview of progress made around the world since 2015 in extending social protection. The report identifies protection gaps and sets out key policy recommendations, including those for achieving the targets of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
European Commission: Strategy
Overview of EU activities in all areas, from agriculture to transport. Click on the links below for more information on the key issues for the EU in each area.
Political Risk Yearbook
The Political Risk Yearbook is an annual publication that “contains all 100 Political Risk Services’ Country Reports updated to the previous December, demarcated along regional lines, using the globally-recognized Coplin-O’Leary political risk rating methodology.” Included in Business Source Complete.
Political Handbook of the World
With more in-depth coverage of current political controversies than any other reference guide, Political Handbook of the World is the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. Featuring more than 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world, this volume is renowned for its extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. It also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies.

CIA World Factbook
Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Internet Archive version includes captures back to 2007 and archives back to 2000. FDLP Archive version includes downloads back to 2000.

Human Development Report
Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries. Includes the Human Development Index and related indicators for Health, Education, Income/Composition of Resources, Inequality, Gender, Poverty, Work, employment and vulnerability, Human Security, Trade and Financial Flows, Mobility and Communication, Environmental sustainability, Demography, Socio-economic sustainability.
Sustainable Development Goals
Click on Engage > Member States for country-level goals, statements, documents, and reports.
The Manifesto Project
Best bet for political party platforms from around the world. The Manifesto Project analyses parties’ election manifestos in order to study parties’ policy preferences. Since October 2009, the Manifesto Project has been financed by a long-term funding grant from the German Science Foundation (DFG) as MARPOR (Manifesto Research on Political Representation). MARPOR addresses the collection and the comparative content analysis of parties’ manifestos with the support of coders from over 50 different countries. The project team coordinates the generation and the analysis of the data. The provided Manifesto Project Dataset for the analysis of the policy preferences covers over 1000 parties from 1945 until today in over 50 countries on five continents. The projects main dataset is updated twice a year. It provides instant access to manifesto texts and content-analytical data and gives accessible ways to easily explore and visualise the data and text corpus.

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.
ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
A collection of the statistical abstracts of various countries, both individually searchable and cross searchable. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service
IMF eLibrary
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Also provides access to the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.

UNData
Collection of international statistics from the World Bank, World Development Indicators (WDI) and Global Development Finance (GDF) , International Monetary Fund (IMF) , UNESCO and other organizations. A total of 438 series and 274 countries.
EuroStat
Top place to look for European statistics on economy and finance, population and social conditions, industry, trade, and services, agriculture and fisheries, transport, environment and energy, science and technology, and general and regional statistics.
more...less...
Eurostat is the Statistical Office of the European Communities. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level. By harmonising statistics from the European statistical system (ESS) to a single methodology, the statistics are made comparable.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics
The latest economic statistics and population estimates for most countries and areas of the world. Issued by the United Nations.
Statistics Canada
Canada's national statistical agency. Includes data on the Canadian economy, population, labour force, education, health and much more.
more...less...
Some data is available only for purchase.
UN Statistics Division
Links several free databases from UN Statistics Division.
World Bank DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them. Includes World Development Indicators...
more...less...
Statistical Capacity Indicators, Education Statistics, Gender Statistics, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics, Poverty and Equity, Doing Business, IDA Results Measurement System, Millennium Development Goals, Quarterly Public Sector Debt, Joint External Debt Hub, Job, Global Economic Prospects, Africa Development Indicators, Population estimates and projections, Health Nutrition and Population Statistics by Wealth Quintile, Landmine Contamination Casualties and Clearance (LC3D), Enterprise Surveys, Global Economic Monitor (GEM), Exporter Dynamics Database, Arica Development Entrepreneurship, Remittance Prices Worldwide, Sustainable Mobility for All, PPPs Regulator Quality, Human Capital Index, World Bureaucracy Indicators, Logistics Performance Index (LPI), Health Equality and Financial Protection Indicators (HEFPI), Global Financial Inclusion and Consumer Protection Survey, Economic Fitness, Environment Social and Governance (ESG) Data, MIX Market, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2011, Wealth Accounts, Economic Fitness, Africa Infrastructure, International Debt Statistics (formerly Global Development Finance), Global Bilateral Migration, UNCTAD - Trade Analysis Information System (TRAINS), International Comparison Program (ICP) 2005, Global Financial Inclusion, The Atlas of Social Protection: Indicators of Resilience and Equity, Country Policy and Institutional Assessment, Global Partnership for Education, Global Financial Development, G20 Financial Inclusion Indicators, ESCAP World Bank: International Trade Costs, Sustainable Energy for All, Service Delivery Indicators, Adjusted Net Savings, Indonesia Database for Policy and Economic Research, Subnational Malnutrition, LAC EQUITY LAB, India Power Sector Review Database, Country Partnership Strategy for India (FY2013-17), Agriculture in Africa – Telling Facts from Myths, National Poverty Line - Subnational Poverty, Quarterly External Debt Statistics GDDS, Quarterly External Debt Statistics SDDS, Subnational Population

Tip: Try searching in UC Library Search for your topic (either country or policy area) and handbooks or encyclopedias. For example:

[policy area] and (handbook or encyclop*) and policy and (economic* or social or welfare)