Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access from Off Campus
In order to access these resources off campus, you will need to use either the web VPN (browser-based) or the AnyConnect VPN (downloaded software that covers all your computer applications). For detailed instructions, click one of the following:
Finding & Ordering Articles
If you are searching in PubMed or another database, when you see the orange UC eLinks button, click on it to find the full text of your article. If the article is not available online you can check the catalog, Roger, to see if the article is in print. If UC San Diego does not subscribe to the journal electronically or in print, you can order a copy of the article from another institution (interlibrary loan).
Interlibrary Loan Form
If an article or book is not available at UC San Diego, you can request it using the interlibrary loan form. Often this form is easier to use than the link from UC eLinks.
Welcome to the UC San Diego Psychiatry Resources Libguide
As the library liaison for Psychiatry, I am also available to help you with searches (or do searches for you), access problems, EndNote and RefWorks questions, and anything else you need. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me by email, phone or in person.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use the UC San Diego version of PubMed in order to link to full-text articles, find articles in print journals, and request articles in journals not owned by UC San Diego (interlibrary loan).
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search over 200 years of international literature on the fields of psychology, cognitive science, and related disciplines. Search through articles, books, book chapters or dissertations. Also a great resource for items about the psychological and behavioral aspects of medicine and health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The tools to narrow your search are not as robust in this database, but it has very good coverage of medical topics and includes journals that PubMed does not index. This is also a citation database that allows you to find out how many times an author or article has been cited - and to see the references for the citing articles.
Drug Information Databases
These drug databases help you find article references and/or information about specific drugs and classes of drugs (e.g., dosing, interactions, pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, etc.).
Evidence-Based Medicine Resources
Search these prefiltered evidence-based medicine resources first to see if your topic is covered.
UC San Diego Library Catalog - Roger
Roger is the UC San Diego online library catalog and lists items owned by all campus libraries. Use Roger to find out if UCSD owns an item and where it is located. Also, you can link to electronic journals and books from Roger, when available.
Biomedical Mobile Resources
This guide brings together resources that we know have mobile-friendly interfaces or apps. Categories include clinical resources, ebooks, databases and catalogs, drug information, and utilities and other tools.
The UC San Diego Libraries provide access to thousands of electronic books. These books are not listed on a particular site. Instead, search the online catalog Roger by author, title or subject to find a book. If the book is online, there will be a link in the catalog that takes you to the online book.
A couple hundred biomedical textbooks are included in:
For help in downloading ebooks to mobile devices, printing, etc. see the guide Ebooks at UCSD.