Structural Engineering: Scholarly Articles

Finding Journals

If you have a specific article you are looking for, or want to know if UCSD subscribes to a specific journal, it is easiest to use the Journal Search.

Types of Journal Content

See the ASCE Types of Journal Content section for descriptions of each type of content listed below.

Technical papers
Case studies
State-of-the-Art reviews
Data papers

Journals

Subject Databases

Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more. Can search in combination with Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective 1913-1983.
ASCE Library
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) issues publications of the following types in print and/or electronic forms: journals and practice periodicals; conference proceedings; standards; manuals and reports on engineering practice; committee technical reports; ASCE Press; engineer, owner, and construction-related contract documents; and special publications.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
Compendex
Indexes 20+ million journal and trade magazine articles, conference papers, standards, books, and other materials in all engineering disciplines. Core database for mechanical, aerospace, civil, structural, chemical, and environmental engineering, as well as materials science and nanotechnology. ****You can now cross search with Inspec for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate references can be removed.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA)
Indexes journals, conference papers, technical reports, maps, videos, slides, and computer files in the field of earthquake engineering and earthquake studies from 1971-present.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts is now part of Engineering Index. By default, your search will be limited to Earthquake Engineering Abstracts content only. Deselect the checkbox to expand your search and get more results.
GeoRef
The GeoRef database contains over 3 million references from around 3,500 journals, technical reports, books, and theses. Use GeoRef to find journal articles in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology and geological maps, going as far back as 1669 for some topics. Use the Get it at UC button in your search results list to find the full text of the articles.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/georef
IEEE Xplore
NEW Image Search feature. Learn more.
1988-present [+ archives for select publications.]

Full-text access to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and IEEE e-books (later titles on Wiley). Browse by journal title, conference name, author. Citing articles of IEEE papers is a feature.
Tip: The default in IEEE Xplore is to search metadata only, which includes abstracts, indexing terms, and bibliographic citation information. To do a full-text search, go to the Advanced Search page and select "Full text & Metadata" from the drop-down list.
Inspec
Indexes 16+ million journal articles and conference papers in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science. Also good for related disciplines like geophysics, astronomy, mechanical engineering, biomedical engineering, ocean engineering, and acoustics. Indexes IEEE conference papers and standards. ****You can now cross search with Compendex for a more comprehensive search of the engineering literature; duplicate results can be removed.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database for materials science and engineering research, indexing journals, magazines and grey literature (patents, conference proceedings, technical reports) for topics in metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials. Includes Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, METADEX, Corrosion Abstracts, and Ceramic Abstracts. Includes full text access to more than 2,000 journals.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.

Preprint Servers

engrXiv
engrXiv is dedicated to the dissemination of engineering knowledge quickly and efficiently. engrXiv was launched in beta in July 2016 under the direction of Devin R. Berg, associate professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.
TechRxiv
TechRxiv is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in the areas of engineering, computer science, and related technology.