Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Reports: Online - Additional Collections

Additional Sources for Locating Reports


These collections are generally more focused on a single agency/organization or subject/discipline.


Aerospace Medicine Technical Reports
Listing of aviation research reports from 1961 to the present. The reports are available in full-text Adobe PDF format to view and download.

AGRICOLA
Covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Not all reports are online; after doing a keyword search, use the "Electronic Resources" filter option to find links to online reports.

Argonne Scientific Publications
The Argonne National Lab (ANL) is multidisciplinary, touching on applied math & statistics, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, environmental science, global security, and more. (See the Research Index for detailed subject coverage.) After doing a keyword search, use the "publication type" to limit results to technical reports.

arXiv
A free distribution service and an open-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

CiteSeerX 
Indexes and provides full text of thousands of articles, papers, and technical reports freely available on the web. Focuses primarily on computer and information science.

Consumer Product Safety Commission
Includes options to browse reports by product category (e.g. chemicals, toys) or hazard category (e.g. fire, electrocutions).

Contrails
Focuses on 20th century aerospace research. Earliest report is from 1930, latest is from 1995.

David Taylor Naval Ship Research and Development Center Reports
Digitized from MIT's Barker Engineering Library collection.

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB)
DNFSB provides recommendations and advice to the President and the Secretary of Energy regarding public health and safety issues at Department of Energy defense nuclear facilities. Offers full text of reports, with date range 1994- .

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
NSCEP is the primary tool for discovering EPA publications. The "refine your search" drop-down lets you limit to items that are available online. Note that the simple search does not support character symbols such as quotation marks for phrase searching; use the advanced search screen to limit to an exact phrase.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Science Inventory
Database of scientific and technical products - journal articles, books, reports, databases, models, methodologies, newsletters, brochures, and presentations - created by EPA and summary research reports through EPA-funded assistance agreements.

ETDE World Energy Base 
Contains technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, and books on energy related topics including research and development, policy and planning, renewable energy technologies, and more. Also indexes energy information from member countries of the International Energy Agency. After doing a keyword search, use the "technical report" product type option to limit results. Earliest report is dated 1891; no longer fully supported as of mid-2014, and no new records are being added.

European Council for Nuclear Research (CERN)
Search among hundreds of thousands of documents, including articles, books, multimedia and technical reports from CERN.

Federal Aviation Administration Technical Library (FAA)
Many reports, standards and documents from the FAA, as well as links to related sources. Click the "search library catalog" button to find an advanced search screen with several ways to focus your search; the "collection type" option includes technical reports, technical notes, specs-standards, and more.

FIREDOC 
Indexes building and fire research reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and audiovisual items. Discontinued in 2010, but still searchable. See also Fire ReSearch Engine, a successor database and international in scope.

Hewlett-Packard Labs Technical Reports
Reports from HP researchers, in the fields of computer science, systems technology, and security. Date range 1990–present; includes a keyword search option and a "filter by year" dropdown to browse reports by year.

INIS (International Nuclear Information System) Repository
From the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). Includes scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, and theses. Covers all areas of IAEA's activities, including nuclear engineering and technology, nuclear safety and radiation protection, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear and isotope techniques, nuclear and high energy physics, nuclear and radiation chemistry, nuclear applications in life sciences, legal aspects, and environmental and economic aspects of nuclear and non-nuclear energy sources.

International Atomic Energy Agency, Technical Reports Series (IAEA)
Subject focus is nuclear science and technology. Date coverage begins in 1960.

Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Reports Server
Repository for digital copies of technical publications authored by JPL employees. It includes preprints, meeting papers, conference presentations, some articles, and other publications cleared for external distribution from 1992 to the present.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)
Berkeley Lab conducts unclassified research across a wide range of scientific disciplines with key efforts in fundamental studies of the universe; quantitative biology; nanoscience; new energy systems and environmental solutions; and the use of integrated computing as a tool for discovery. This University of California repository includes LBNL publications, including many technical reports.

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) 
The LLNL Research Library collections include information resources in the physical and life sciences, technology, engineering, mathematics, and some social sciences. After doing a keyword search, results screen includes options to limit to technical reports and items available online.

National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA)
NACA was dissolved in 1958, and its assets and personnel were transferred to the newly created National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Scroll down the main page to find browsing options for the collection, including NACA Technical Reports under the "Titles" header. Hosted at the University of North Texas Digital Library.

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
Provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos created or funded by NASA. NTRS integrates the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) and NASA collections; NACA content includes reports from 1900-1958 and the NASA content includes documents from 1958- . Note that not all NTRS content is publicly available.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Publications include energy-related technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, patents, presentations, books, fact sheets, brochures, and more from 1977 to the present. The advanced search screen includes a "material type" drop-down that allows limiting to tech reports.

National Research Council of Canada (NRC)
An institutional repository of NRC-authored technical reports, conference publications, articles, and more.  Over 60,000 publications from 1916-present. 

National Transportation Library, Repository & Open Science Access Portal (ROSAP)
This digital library includes full-text publications, datasets, and other resources across all modes of transportation and related disciplines, with specific focus on information produced by the U.S. Department of Transportation, state DOTs, and other transportation organizations. Legacy print materials that have been digitized are collected if they have historic, technical, or national significance. After doing a keyword search, you can limit the resource type to tech reports.

NOAA Great Lakes Environmental Research Laboratory (GLERL)
GLERL conducts research on the dynamic environments and ecosystems of the Great Lakes and coastal regions. This collection of technical reports and memoranda has a date range of 1972- , and the vast majority are available online.

NOAA National Environmental, Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
NESDIS provides access to global environmental data and information from satellites and other sources to promote and protect the nation's security, environment, economy, and quality of life. This collection of technical reports and memoranda has a date range of 1983-2017 and are available online.

NOAA Scientific Publications Office
Provides access to technical reports from the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS). Date coverage is 1983-2001.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), Science and Technology Organization (STO)
Indexes international publications from STO, CMRE (Centre for Maritime Research and Experimentation), and AGARD (Advisory Group for Aerospace Research and Development). Use dropdown menu to select individual collections or search across all collections; there's also a "tech reports" button under the search box that will let you browse the reports. Lock symbols indicate those that are openly available and those that are not. Date coverage is 2008- .

Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NUREG)
Reports covering the operation of nuclear power plants.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL)
Subjects include neutron science, high-performance computing, advanced materials, biology and environmental science, nuclear science and engineering, isotopes, and national security research. Reports after 1996 and many earlier reports are digitized and linked in the Library Catalog; use the "format" drop-down to limit to tech reports.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)
Includes reports, papers, books and other material from many countries.  Much of the content is centered on economic and social issues, but also covers technical topics such as energy, transportation and industry.

OSTI.gov
Replaced the SciTech Connect database as the primary search tool for Department of Energy (and predecessor agencies) technical reports and other publications. Date coverage starts in the 1940s, but not all reports are available online. Click the down arrow in the search box for advanced search features, including (under "more options") a "resource type" limit for tech reports.

RAND Corporation
Since an early emphasis on national security challenges, Rand's work has become increasingly multidisciplinary and broad in scope; current research areas include energy & environment, infrastructure & transportation, national security, health care, education, and more. Date coverage of tech reports collection is 2003-2015.

Transport Research International Documentation (TRID)
Covers all modes and disciplines of transportation. Contains more than 1.3 million records of published research; more than 330,000 link to full-text documents.

Treesearch
Includes scholarly works (journals, conference proceedings, books) authored and/or published by USDA Forest Service scientists on topics such as climate change, ecology, environment, fire, natural resource management, and more. There is no option to limit results to technical reports, but you can add "technical report" to keyword search.

UNT Digital Library
This selection of materials from the Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) includes hard-to-find reports published by various government agencies. Scroll to the bottom of the page to find options for browsing the collection, including a "Titles" section that groups reports by producer (e.g. NACA, AEC).

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Digital Library (USACE)
Includes technical reports from the Waterways Experiment Station, Engineering Research and Development Center, and districts. Date coverage begins in the 1930s.

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Technical Service Center
Address issues in water and power resources. Most reports are available online.

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse
USGS' mission areas include core science systems, ecosystems, energy & minerals, natural hazards, and water resources. This database provides access to over 130,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the history of the bureau. Use the advanced search category "series name" to select technical report/technical note/etc.

WorldWideScience.org
A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. There is an advanced search screen, but no way to limit searches to tech reports. Date coverage begins in 2001, and there is an option to limit results to those available online.