Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC San Diego University History and Archives: What is University Archives?

Hours

Library Hours

Special Collections & Archives Hours

  • Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm

The University Archives documents the history of the UC San Diego and illuminates campus life, academic and administrative activity, faculty governance, research and teaching, student activities, sports, and community relations. Collections include official records, reports, publications, correspondence, digital files, maps, photographs, audiovisual materials, oral histories, and memorabilia and are available for use in Special Collections & Archives in Geisel Library.

The Archives preserves and makes these documents available for research, instruction, and public use. Special Collections & Archives provides reference assistance and an environmentally sound storage location for archival materials. Collections in the University Archives are non-circulating and may be used by faculty, students, and the public under regular Reading Room rules.

Reminder: The University Archives will only have a record of your activities if you submit materials to Special Collections & Archives. Please consider sharing your history and records with the university archives. Contact the University Archivist for more details.

Profile Photo
Marlayna Christensen
Contact:
University Archivist
UC San Diego Library
Special Collections & Archives
(858) 534-8605