Journal articles are especially good for finding current research on a topic. Articles which are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" are written by scholars and professionals in the field. Many of the Library's databases will let you limit your search to these types of publications.
Be sure to look at the bibliography of any article that seems particularly relevant, because it can lead you to other useful resources.
Remember to try related terms when searching for materials, as different articles may use different terminology. For example, one database finds 149 results for "lgbt homeless" and only 70 for "lgbtq homeless".
Homelessness touches on a wide variety of disciplines, so there will be many databases that might have relevant information. The databases below are the ones I recommend for starting your research. If you are unable to find appropriate articles, try browsing the Library's subject guides to identify other potentially helpful databases. You can also contact Kelly or contact the Library for assistance.
A blue/gold symbol indicates databases purchased or subscribed to by the library. If off campus, you'll need to use the VPN to access these resources.
Within the databases, use the 
button to find full text of articles.
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Citations to articles in roughly 381 alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
If you're considering federal policies as part of your research, you may want to review Congressional bills, hearings, research reports, etc. to better understand the process behind the policies. The ProQuest Congressional database is the best place to start for this sort of material.
Dissertations and theses can be valuable resources for your research. You can often find local-area research on a given subject, and their literature reviews and bibliographies may point you to additional resources of interest.
The Dissertations and Theses database is the best place to look for these materials. All publications from UC schools are available as full text PDFs, while those from other universities may be requested through ILL.
