Legislative Info & LawsRegulations
Get Started! guideUS Newspapers guideInternational News SourcesScholarly Articles
Get Started! GuideSearch UCSD (Roger)Search San Diego (Circuit)Search UC & beyond (Next Gen Melvyl Pilot)
This is the "Home" page of the "Law Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Research Guide   Tags: law  

Last Updated: May 8, 2013 URL: http://ucsd.libguides.com/law Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Doing Legal Research

Cover Art
Locating the Law, 5th edition - Southern California Association of Law Libraries
This handbook is designed especially for the California non-law librarian in dealing with legal reference questions.

Cover Art
Finding the Law - Bryan M. Carson
Call Number: SSHL Reference, Geisel Floor2 KF240 .C37 2011
ISBN: 9780810881051
Publication Date: 2011-08-05

Cover Art
Legal Research - Stephen Elias; Nolo Press Editors
Call Number: SSHL Reference, Geisel Floor2 KF240 .E45 2012
ISBN: 9781413316186
Publication Date: 2012-08-31

Cover Art
Fundamentals of legal research - Roy M. Mersky, Donald J. Dunn
Call Number: SSHL Reference Desk, Geisel Floor2 KF240 .J3 2009
ISBN: 1599412187

Cover Art
Finding the Law - Robert C. Berring
Call Number: SSH Ref Stacks KF240 .B45 1999
ISBN: 0314232168
Publication Date: 1999-07-01

Cover Art
California Legal Research Handbook - Larry D. Dershem
Call Number: SSH Ref Stacks KFC74 .D47 2008
ISBN: 0837715318
Publication Date: 2008-01-01

Cover Art
Henke's California Law Guide - Daniel Martin; Dan F. Henke
Call Number: SSH Ref Stacks KFC74 .H46 2006
ISBN: 9780820575957
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Cover Art
California Legal Research - Hether C. Macfarlane; Suzanne E. Rowe
Call Number: SSH Ref Stacks KFC74 .M33 2008
ISBN: 1594604037
Publication Date: 2008-08-01

Cover Art
Legal Information - Kent Olson
Call Number: SSH Reference Desk KF240 .O365 1999
ISBN: 0897749634
Publication Date: 1998-11-19

Basic Legal Resources

gavel

Hello Researchers!

This guide is designed to help you start your Legal and Law & Society library research.

Just learning about a topic? Start with secondary sources like books or law review articles. Law review articles are the scholarly journal of the legal world and often contain citations to relevant cases and legislation on the topic at hand. Reading law review articles on your research topic can save you a lot of time.

LexisNexis Academic, Westlaw Campus, and HeinOnline contain the full text of law review articles. They also all have the full text of federal and state case law (court opinions) as well as other research tools including encyclopedias and other reference books.

For lower-level court transcripts, contact the original court for availability and ordering instructions. (Expect to pay a fee.) See newspapers/media coverage for additional information on cases that never made it to the appellate courts or beyond.

  • LexisNexis Academic [UCSD Only]
    Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Reference titles include: American Jurisprudence 2d; Ballentine's Law Dictionary; Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations; A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage; Modern Dictionary for the Legal Profession; Martindale-Hubbell® Legal Professionals Listings; Martindale-Hubbell® Law School Directory
  • WestlawNext [UCSD Only]
    Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; legal periodicals and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides and information for pre-law students. Reference works include American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence 2d; Black's Law Dictionary.
  • HeinOnline [UCSD Only]
    Full text of legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated
  • Google Scholar
    Includes full text of legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts.
  • Legal Research in a Nutshell links
    This page provides links to websites discussed in Morris L. Cohen & Kent C. Olson, Legal Research in a Nutshell (West, 10th ed. 2010).
  • Wex
    Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Annelise Sklar
Contact Info
Social Sciences and Humanities Library
Geisel Library Building
858-822-1993
Send Email

Using the Library - Quick Links

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip