It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Dictionary of Law by Jonathan Law (Editor)This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,700 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Entries have been fully updated for this edition to incorporate the latest legislation, including entries on foreign national offenders, Police and Crime Commissioners, corporate manslaughter, and settlement agreements, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addressesproblems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute (LII) based at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.
The main source of TheFreeDictionary's legal dictionary is West's Encyclopedia of American Law, Edition 2, which contains more than 4,000 entries detailing terms, concepts, events, movements, cases, and individuals significant to United States law. The legal dictionary also incorporates The People's Law Dictionary, by renowned authorities Gerald and Kathleen Hill. It includes definitions, context, and usage for more than 3,000 terms. Regarded by scholars, jurists, leading attorneys and reviewers as one of the most practical works of its kind, The People's Law Dictionary is a comprehensive source of meanings and use for thousands of today's most common legal terms. It has gained widespread praise for its scope and clarity.
Black's Law Dictionary by Bryan A. Garner; Henry Campbell BlackFor more than a century Black's has been the gold standard for the language of law. Today it is the most widely cited law book in the world. Edited by Bryan A. Garner, the world's leading legal lexicographer, the 9th Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms and includes: 2,000 more terms than the 8th Edition and 19,000 more than the 7th Edition including click fraud, Code Adam, collaborative law, ecoterrorism, environmental tort, friendly subpoena, happy-slapping, honor crime, secret detention, Schumer box, and super precedent. The date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions, Heightened accuracy, more than 200 lawyers around the country reviewed terms. Definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Almost 3,000 quotations drawn from sources over five centuries. Alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms and West Key Numbers.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF156 .B53 2014 Also available in Westlaw.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary by Nolo Press Editors; Kathleen Hill; Gerald Hill
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF156 .N654 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-24
Lawtalk by James E. Clapp; Elizabeth G. Thornburg; Marc Galanter; Fred R. Shapiro
The Legal Information Institute (LII)'s community-built, freely available legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia. LII is based at Cornell University Law School.
American Jurisprudence 2d
Available via LexisNexis Academic and WestlawNext. American Jurisprudence provides citations only to the most important cases.
American Law Reports
via WestlawNext. Articles are annotations, similar to encyclopedia articles, that cover more narrow or specific legal issues and in more depth. They are not designed to be comprehensive, and you will not find an A.L.R. annotation on every topic. The annotations typically focus on developing or controversial areas of law.
Contains a collection of resources to help with complex historical and contemporary questions in legislative activities.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by Kent OlsonFinding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
Publication Date: 2018-09-20
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions, Second Edition by Virginia M. Tucker (Contribution by); Marc Lampson (Contribution by)Whether for self-representation, to be an informed consumer of legal services, or to learn the U.S. legal system, more people than ever are using the library to obtain legal information and legal research advice. The new edition of Finding the Answers to Legal Questions is a comprehensive guide to help librarians confidently assist users in finding the legal information they need. Newly revised and updated, this timely, clearly organized, and easy-to-use resource is packed with guidance to help librarians answer questions that span the gamut of the law. An ideal book for practicing librarians looking to better serve users' legal needs, as well as for students preparing for careers as librarians, it provides an overview of fundamental legal information, including the basic structure of the U.S. legal system and primary law; how-to instructions for finding primary law in print sources, free websites, and pay-for-view databases; information on how to evaluate the trustworthiness of online and print resources; tips for conducting a legal reference interview; guidance for handling common legal questions, such as lawsuits, family law, landlord-tenant disputes, wills and estate planning, debt, bankruptcy, employment, and criminal law; and advice on how to build a basic legal reference collection. This book will help librarians connect users to the most accurate, up-to-date legal information.
Call Number: Geisel Floor6 KF240 .T83 2018 AVAILABLE
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
Legal Research by Linda L. Berger; Jeanne Frazier PriceExamples & Explanations: Legal Research is designed to meet the needs of law students who have come to expect that they will instantly receive answers to their questions. Rather than cataloging sources or outlining processes, this text starts where today's law students are when they realize they have a research problem. By that time, their research problem is not locating sources, but knowing what to do with them. The Legal Research E & E guides students through examples and explanations of the kinds of sources they've found, using the context of interesting and entertaining real-world problems. The text helps students determine which sources are the most useful for the current project and which ¬ it leads students to understand how one source affects and relates to the others; and--equally important--it shows students how to write about the sources they have found. Because this book covers the kinds of research projects faced not only by beginning law students but also by advanced students and even new lawyers, its value to its readers is long-lasting. Even experienced researchers will learn more about working with the difficult, as well as the easy, research questions that today are addressed by an array of sources.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .P65 2017 LIBRARY USE ONLY
Publication Date: 2016-11-09
Fundamentals of Legal Research by Steven M. Barkan; Barbara Bintliff; Mary WhisnerThis classic textbook has been updated to include the latest methods and resources. Fundamentals of Legal Research provides an authoritative introduction and guide to all aspects of legal research, integrating electronic and print sources. The Tenth Edition includes chapters on the true basics (case reporting, statutes, and so on) as well as more specialized chapters on legislative history, tax law, international law, and the law of the United Kingdom. A new chapter addresses Native American tribal law. Chapters on the research process, legal writing, and citation format help integrate legal research into the larger process of solving legal problems and communicating the solutions. This edition includes an updated glossary of research terms and revised tables and appendixes. Because of its depth and breadth, this text is well suited for advanced legal research classes; it is a book that students will want to retain for future use. Moreover, it has a place on librarians' and attorneys' ready reference shelves. Barkan, Bintliff and Whisner's Assignments to Fundamentals of Legal Research complements the text.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .J3 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Specialized Legal Research by Penny A. Hazelton (Editor)
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .S69
Publication Date: 2014-05-30
Finding the Law by Bryan M. CarsonAlthough there are other books that discuss conducting legal research, Finding the Law: Legal Research for Librarians is unique in that it is aimed at librarians, library science students, and paralegals rather than at law students. Because it assumes that its audience already understands the research process in general, this book will allow readers to grow professionally, learning new skills that will be used in the day-to-day practice of librarianship as it applies to our legal systems. Topics covered include the origins of legal publishing; an overview of the U.S. system of law and government; issues related to the U. S. Constitution and Treaties; and the activities of the legislative and executive branches. Consideration is also given to researching state legal systems, emphasizing the differences to conducting research for the federal systems. The book concludes with an examination of the legal issues faced by librarians, publishers, and book distributors.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .C37 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-05
Legal Research by Stephen Elias; Nolo Press EditorsLegal research made simple! If you're searching for information in a real or virtual law library as a paralegal, law student, legal assistant, journalist, or lay person, finding and accessing the laws that you need to read can be a challenge. Turn to Legal Research, which outlines a systematic method to find answers and get results. In plain, readable English, Attorney Stephen Elias explains, with plenty of examples and instructions, how to: . read and understand statues, regulations and cases . evaluate cases for their value as precedent . use all the basic tools of legal research . practice what you've learned with "hands-on, library exercises, as well as hypothetical research problems and solutions This easy-to-use and understand book has been adopted as a text in many law schools and paralegal programs. This edition has been condensed to be more readable and includes an expanded discussion on the use of new legal research tools on the web.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .B45 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
California Legal Research by Hether C. Macfarlane; Aimee Dudovitz; Suzanne E. RoweThe second edition of California Legal Research continues to fill a unique niche in the literature available for California state law research, explaining both the sources of California law and the process of conducting research using those sources. This edition includes enhanced coverage of online sources, and WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, and free Internet sources are covered throughout.
After introductory chapters devoted to the basic research process and research techniques, California Legal Research explores judicial opinions, the state constitution, statutes and legislative history, and administrative law. The book then turns to updating research with Shepard's and KeyCite, using secondary sources and practice guides, and planning a research strategy. A final chapter explains legal citation, with information on the California Style Manual, the ALWD Citation Manual, and the Bluebook.
The book should be valuable to a wide range of audiences -- from first-year students to seasoned veterans. Outlines of the research process and excerpts from key state sources make the book easy to use. The text includes brief discussions of legal analysis throughout, recognizing the interplay between research and analysis.
California Legal Research supplements its detailed discussion of state research with brief discussions of federal research. Thus, it can be used as the sole text in a research course or in conjunction with texts focusing on topical or federal research.
This book is part of the Legal Research Series, edited by Suzanne E. Rowe, Director of Legal Research and Writing, University of Oregon School of Law.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KFC74 .M33 2008
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
California Legal Research Handbook by Larry D. Dershem
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KFC74 .D47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Henke's California Law Guide by Daniel Martin; Dan F. Henke
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KFC74 .H46 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Legal Information: how to find it, how to use it by Kent OlsonThis comprehensive & easy-to-use guide is designed to help librarians, beginning law & paralegal students, & the general public quickly find the legal information they need. The author, a public services librarian at the University of Virginia Law Library, takes a broad view of the law's value in other disciplines & examines resources found in general libraries or on the Internet. Commercial online databases & references found in specialized law libraries are also discussed. Olson suggests the best sources for different kinds of information, & explains how these resources compare to other available material. Beginning with an overview of the legal system & a discussion of dictionaries & guides, the author examines general reference sources, books, journals, & legal directories. Sections are also devoted to the Constitution, the Supreme Court, & sources of legislative, judicial, & administrative law on the federal & state levels.
Call Number: Reference, Geisel Floor2 West KF240 .O365 1999