It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
One of the most comprehensive collection of web resources on the American presidency, including documents, public papers, executive orders, addresses, press conferences, debates, election data, approval ratings, much more. Data topics include Relations with Congress / Popularity / Public Appearances / Growth of the Executive Branch / Presidential Selection / State of the Union and Inaugural Address Charts / Presidential Disability
The Exectuve branch is tasked with implementing legislation. Regulations are the rules developed by government agencies like the EPA or FDA to deal with specific details not included in legislation. Regulations are introduced in the Federal Register, which is published daily, and the public is given a set period of time to comment on the proposed regulations. The final version of the regulation is also published in the Federal Register and then codified (arranged by subject) in the Code of Federal Regulations.
Extensive research guide introducing administrative law topics. Part of LLSDC's Legislative Source Book
Federal Register (FR)
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Full text starts in 1994.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1, and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. Large parts may be subdivided into subparts. All parts are organized in sections, and most citations to the CFR refer to material at the section level.
Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated. Includes additional databases: State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; National Survey of State Laws; Religion and the Law; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Women and the Law (Peggy); World Treaty Library
Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.
Official documentary record of major US foreign policy decisions, archived as digital facsimile by the University of Wisconsin. Incomplete run with years added as available. Precedes the modern version maintained and archived by the US State Department.
Official diplomatic record of U.S. relations with other countries. Contains important speeches, communiques, and other communications of State Department officials and diplomats. There is a delay (approximately 30-40 years) in the release of information as it becomes declassified.
Selected declassified documents of the US government on a wide range of subjects: Nuclear History, Middle East, Latin America, Asia, Intelligence and Secrecy, September 11, etc. A valuable collection of primary sources. Also lists documents for sale
Covering the U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops. Along the way, documents in this module trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam.
United States Political Datasets & Statistics
Use these resources to find data and statistics on American politics.
United States election voting reference works with downloadable elections data. Covers the American voter, to major and minor political parties, actual races for Congress, the Presidency, and governorships. Election data can be downloaded in csv or tsv and earliest date of coverage varies by office: President (national summary: 1789; county detail: 1920); Senate (national summary: 1908; county detail: 1968); Governor (national summary: 1824; county detail: 1967); House (national summary: 1824; district detail: 1968). More details in the CQ Libguide
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguide for more detail.
Congressional Bills; Bill Status; Bill Summaries; Commerce Business Daily; Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition); Electronic Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; United States Government Manual; House Rules and Manual; Privacy Act Issuances; Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States; Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975 (FLITE)
Media: Congressional Quarterly Almanac; New York Times Front Page; New York Times Index; New York Times Index Weights; TV News Policy Agenda Data
Parliamentary & Legislative: Congressional Bills; Congressional Hearings;Public Law Titles; Public Laws; Roll Call Votes; Prime Minister & Executive; Executive Orders; Presidential Veto Rhetoric; State of the Union Speeches
Political Parties:Democratic Party Platform; Republican Party Platform
Judiciary: Supreme Court Cases; Budget; Budget Authority (Adjusted); Budget Authority-Policy Crosswalk; Budget Outlays; Tax Expenditures
Public Opinion & Interest Groups: Encyclopedia of Associations; Gallup's Most Important Problem; Policy Moods
@unitedstates is a shared commons of data and tools for the United States. Made by the public, used by the public. Featuring work from people with the Sunlight Foundation, GovTrack.us, the New York Times, the Electronic Frontier Foundation, and the Internet
Links and citation info for multiple Congressional datasets:
Congressional Committees, 80th--102nd Congresses Garrison Nelson
Congressional Committees, Historical Standing Committees David Canon, Garrison Nelson, Charles Stewart III
Congressional Committees, Modern Standing Committees, 103rd--112th Congresses Charles Stewart III and Jonathan Woon
Candidate Quality and U.S. Senate Election Data David Lublin
Congressional District Demographic and Political Data David Lublin
Candidate Positioning Data Stephen Ansolabehere, James M. Snyder, and CharlesStewart III
Federal Elections Project David Lublin
House and Senate Party Voting Scores Joseph Cooper and Garry Young
House Committee Request Data Scott Frisch and Sean Kelly
Nominal and Adjusted Americans for Democratic Action (ADA) Voting Records, 1947-2007 Sarah Anderson (UCSB) and Philip Habel (SIUC)
Voteview Royce Carroll (Rice), James Lo (UCLA), Jeff Lewis (UCLA), Nolan McCarty (Princeton), Keith Poole (UCSD), and Howard Rosenthal (NYU).
Adjusted Interest Group Scores Timothy Groseclose (UCLA)
Jeff Lewis and Keith Poole's roll call downloads. Jeff Lewis and Keith Poole
Allows users to view every congressional roll call vote in American history on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map, including information about the ideological position of voting Senators and Representatives.
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables. This database replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication (1878-2012). It uses many of the same, along with additional, data sources as the earlier editions.
Cooperative Project of The University of Rochester, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, & George Washington University.
-State Governors 1958-2009 Database (Excel format) (updated 3/29/10)
Note: State Governors includes California Governor Davis recall support poll results.
- U.S. Senators 1978-2009 Database (Excel format)(updated 3/29/10)
- U.S. Presidents 1945-2009 Database (Excel format) (updated 3/29/10)
Skim through the blog for recent elections data such as
Gubernatorial Race Ratings
Senate Race Ratings
Presidential Vote by Legislative Districts
Presidential Vote by Congressional Districts
House Race Ratings