Law: Writing & Citing

Organizing legal citation into 40 thoroughly cogent and illustrated rules, the Guide is the ideal coursebook, supplement, or stand-alone reference for American legal citation. Students, law review staff, scholars, and practitioners can rely on the Guide 7E to provide precise citation rules for the full spectrum of legal sources, consistent with national standards. The clear explanations, examples, diagrams, and quick-reference tables in the Guide make teaching and researching legal citation efficient and stress-free for all. New to the Seventh Edition: Expanded and updated coverage of how to cite to the multitude of e-sources that practitioners and students use when conducting legal research in the real world today, including new and revised component diagrams and examples New appendix helps law review staff writers cross-reference the Guide's citation rules with traditional legal citation standards Updated and revised Guide rules that are consistent with traditional legal citation standards Appendix 5 free online access to expanded list of periodical titles that can be updated frequently Appendix 2 free online access to coverage of local legal citation rules that can be updated frequently Professors and student will benefit from: Coverage of online media, such as e-books, listservs, forums, blogs, and social media Tips and directions for finding local rules Citing to case reporters, statutes, legislation, and regulations found on e-sources "Academic Formatting" icons note differences in citation style between academic legal writing and professional legal writing Fast Formats preview and refresh understanding of essential citation components Screenshots from electronic sources and snapshots of actual pages Sidebars explain the "why" of legal citations and how to avoid common errors Sample citation diagrams that illustrate the essential components of citation construction Cross-references within each rule connects content in other rules or in the Appendices Over 140 subsections with information not found in a traditional legal citation manual Detailed Appendices with abbreviations for use in citations and with information not found in other sources such as: Peer reviewed local court citation conventions, websites, and other resources Additional periodicals with full title abbreviations so writers do not have to memorize spacing rules to assemble abbreviations themselves Comprehensive rules for citing federal taxation materials

APSA Style

Legal Writing I & II; Legal Research and Writing & Introduction to Litigation Practice contains a brief discussion of all of the topics covered in a law school courses on legal writing, including a typical first semester course on legal research, analysis and writing an objective memorandum, as well as a second semester course on persuasion and writing an appellate brief, motion to dismiss or motion for summary judgment. The discussion focuses on the basics of analogical reasoning and persuasion and leaves out the minutiae. Each topic is taken one step at a time, with each step building on the step before it. The sources of law are presented first, then legal research, and reading and analyzing cases and statutes. The book covers analogizing a case to a fact pattern and marshaling the relevant facts to the elements of a statutory rule next. And then first section of the book concludes with legal citation, CRAC and CREAC, and writing a legal research memorandum. The text also includes a lot of samples and examples of how the author would write a case brief, a legal memoranda and an appellate brief, as well as an appendix with charts, outlines and exercises students can use to practice these skills. Legal Writing I & II; Legal Research and Writing & Introduction to Litigation Practice covers all the skills students need to know to work at a law firm, and everything students have to learn to begin practicing in litigation department of a firm. The chapters of the book are as follows: 1.Sources of Law (Local Ordinances and Bylaws, State and Federal Law: Statutes, Regulations, Cases, Executive Orders, International Treaties, Compacts, and Agreements) 2.Legal Research (Secondary Sources, Researching Statutes, Researching Cases, Paper Research v. Computer Research) 3.Briefing Cases (Facts, Issue, Rule, Holding, Reasoning) 4.Applying Cases and Analogical Reasoning (Analogizing a Case to a Fact Pattern, Distinguishing a Case from a Fact Pattern) 5.Analyzing Statutes and Marshaling Facts (Determining a Statutory Formula, Definitions, Marshaling Facts to a Statutory Rule, Comparing a Case Interpreting a Statutory Rule to a Fact Pattern) 6.Citation (How to Cite Cases, How to Cite Statutes and Regulations, Quotations, Signals, Parentheticals, Reference Materials) 7.IRAC (Issue, Rule, Application, Conclusion, Using "IREAC" when it is Necessary to Explain the Rule, Using "Ferrari Has Really Cool Race Cars" when it is Necessary to Analogize or Distinguish a Case, Synthesizing a Rule from Multiple Cases, Explaining and Applying a Rule with Multiple Cases) 8. Objective Legal Memoranda (Organization of a Research Memo, Sample Memo) 9. Other Examples of Legal writing (Client Letters, Exam Answers) 10. Improving Your Writing (Additional Tips and Resources) 11. Credibility in Persuasive Writing (the importance of writing well) 12. Bias (Implicit Bias, Microaggressions, Dealing with Bias in Others) 13. Ethical Rules for Advocacy (Competence, Diligent, Honesty and Fairness) 14. Civil and Appellate Procedure (Rules for the Form and Content of Briefs and Memos) 15. Requirements for Civil Motions and Standards of Review for Appeals 16. Persuasive Writing (Writing Persuasive Facts, Writing Persuasive Arguments) 17. Memoranda in Support of Motions (Applying the Rules of Civil Procedure to a Sample Memo) 18. Motion Session (Arguing a Motion Before a Trial Court Judge) 19. Appellate Briefs (Applying the Rules of Appellate Procedure to a Sample Brief) 20. Oral Argument (Arguing an Appeal before a Panel of Appellate Court Judges) In addition, there are numerous examples, exercises and sample documents in the appendix.

The Legal Scholar's Guidebookdemystifies academic legal writing by providing concrete advice on topic selection, research strategies, and analytical frameworks. It is an essential resource for any serious legal scholar. Nascent scholars will find it a reassuring guide through a demanding process and experienced scholars will find it a source of encouragement. Wherever you are on your scholarly journey, the Guidebook is your compass. Scholars will benefit from: Chapter Brainstormsthat contain Questions guiding entry into stages of the research and writing process. Squelch the Impostor tips that include advice to manage stress inherent at each stage of the research and writing process. Specific assignments to methodically guide the scholar through each stage. Examples, Guides, and Checklists that provide samples to help the scholar understand expectations at each stage.

Legal Drafting in a Nutshell, 5th Edition, provides guidance on producing transactional documents, contracts, instruments, legislation, and regulations that solve existing problems and prevent future problems. The book provides both a large scale, macro overview of the drafting process as well as small scale, micro focused discussion of the mechanics of legal documents at the sentence, word, and punctuation level. The book incorporates current and developing perspectives regarding subjects like plain English, legal typography, and document preparation in the 21st century. This is especially the case in sections of the text dealing with contracts and instruments, although it is true throughout the text. Legal drafting is as much a thought process as a writing process; clear thinking leads to clear drafting. This book is a guide for clear, structured thinking about drafting in order to provide readers with a structured process to follow when assembling useful legal documents.

The purchase of this ebook edition does not entitle you to receive access to the Connected eBook with Study Center on CasebookConnect. You will need to purchase a new print book to get access to the full experience, including: lifetime access to the online ebook with highlight, annotation, and search capabilities; practice questions from your favorite study aids; an outline tool and other helpful resources. The Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers is the concise reference students turn to again and again. Deborah E. Bouchoux's straightforward exposition, examples, and exercises cover every stage of the writing process. Practical tips and strategies clarify gray areas and shed light on important details that are frequently overlooked. Numerous examples throughout the text highlight the differences between ineffective and effective legal writing. New to the Fifth Edition: New exercises and challenges to test mastery of topics discussed Updated websites Revised Appendix A on citation form in accord with the twenty-first edition of The Bluebook Entirely new section on the use of the singular they for indefinite and generic nouns and strategies to achieve gender-inclusive language New practical tips on timely and helpful topics such as using technology to improve writing and how to trim lengthy URLs New sections covering: a step-by-step approach to preparing an outline use of roadmaps in writing projects how to prepare an email letter Significantly enhanced discussion of informal or email memos Enhanced discussion of ethical issues, such as protecting confidential client information in marketing materials, the ethics of texting, and the ethical implications of using social media New sample documents, including a demand letter, an email letter, and an email memo Coverage of Zoom-type conferences, as part of electronic communications Professors and student will benefit from: Grammar, style, and usage, presented in a clear and concise format Numerous helpful examples that illustrate strong legal writing and common errors to avoid A special Legal Documents section with tips and strategies for writing letters, memoranda, briefs (both trial and appellate), and transactional documents Website resources for every topic Tips, Strategies, and Ethics Alerts that focus on key topics Challenge Exercises that test your knowledge A Quick-Reference Table of Contents A Quick-Reference Style Sheet Answer Keys to Challenge Exercises, Citation Form, section for English Language Learners, and Sample Appellate Brief in the appendices

Legal Reasoning and Legal Writing teaches students how to organize and incorporate a legal argument into strong and cogent writing for a variety of applications in legal practice. This clear and coherent text has been updated to address the new skills required for modern law practice. While the Ninth Edition still includes the fundamental tools that has made it one of the best-selling legal writing texts, it has been updated to incorporate current and more sophisticated material for students wishing to take their advocacy skills to the next level. Designed for utility in a wide range of legal writing courses, the book covers multiple types of legal writing, including office memos, appellate and motion briefs, client letters, and email correspondence, as well as all aspects of legal reasoning from rule-based analysis to strategies of persuasion. It also covers other key skills such as oral reports to supervisors, appellate and motion argument, tips about the realities of online law practice and modern changes in language and style. The Ninth Edition reflects the collective wisdom of three leaders in the legal writing discipline who together have over 90 years of experience teaching, writing and speaking about legal writing. New to the Ninth Edition: New chapters 23-33 (The Shift to Persuasion). The new chapters are thoroughly modernized and to incorporate the best ideas of the legal scholarship on persuasion in an accessible and clear fashion.  The newly organized chapters reflect that legal writing courses might teach appellate briefs or motion briefs, or some combination, and make the assigning of chapters easier for all approaches. New content about theory of the case, motions, procedural posture and the client's story. Professors and student will benefit from: Clear coverage of the nuts and bolts of writing an office memo, a motion memo, and an appellate brief organized to make assigning chapters easier for all different course approaches. The authors' paradigm for Organizing a Proof of a Conclusion of Law, which provides the best explanation available of the reasoning underlying the proof of a conclusion of law. Immersive pedagogy where students learn both to think like lawyers and to think like writers. A thoughtful look at all aspects of legal reasoning, from rule-based analysis to the strategy of persuasion An accessible approach that focuses on the process of writing timely examples and exercises from legal practice A full complement of sample documents in the Appendices Teaching materials Include: Teacher's Manual Additional resources included with Connected Coursebook

This book hits the sweet spot between books that focus only on briefs and books that try to do too much. Expertly written and constructed by Mary Beth Beazley and Monte Smith, Briefs and Beyond: Persuasive Legal Writing gives law professors options to supplement a persuasive writing course with complaints, demand letters, and other persuasive documents while not overwhelming their students. Professors and student will benefit from: A behavioral approach to legal writing A focus on how documents look as well as what they say Sidebars that answer students' common questions as they go along Effective formulas for legal writing that ease the writing process Many examples of both good and bad writing throughout that illustrate concepts covered in the text

Writing for Litigation, Second Edition, explains and shows students how to draft litigation documents like a lawyer. Because litigation practice can't be boiled down to just a few forms, this text provides drafting instruction for the full range of documents used in litigation practice.  Authors Kamela Bridges and Wayne Schiess systematically address how audience, purpose, strategy, and ethics factor into the content and tone of effective legal writing at every stage of a case--from client engagement letters to motions, discovery, affidavits, and jury instructions.  Students will develop an understanding of the tone and content appropriate to their strategic objectives and their audience. The authors' backgrounds in legal practice shed light on lawyering skills in Practice Tips throughout the text.   New to the Second Edition:   Discussion of the ethical principles that govern each type of document, tied to the Model Rules of Professional Responsibility  Text and examples that reflect the trend toward electronic filing of documents Revised treatment of discovery issues that reflect changes to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Sample e-mail letters to a client and opposing counsel How to communicate professionally with text messages Updated cover and page design that offer a new, modern look and more reader-friendly experience Professors and students will benefit from: Broad coverage of both common documents such as pleadings, discovery requests, and motions; and of ancillary documents such as demand letters, client communications, and affidavits Practical tips and advice on strategic legal drafting, writing unambiguously, and diversity sensitivity  Clear guidance to the component parts of each type of document  A complete set of sample documents in the Appendix

A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.

You're ready to take the plunge into law school (or you already have) and there is one big thing looming over you: LEGAL WRITING. You've heard that legal writing is hard. You've heard that legal writing is scary. You have not written anything since your mandatory college English class. Well, simmer down, you have found the antidote to your fear-based illness. This book takes you through the history, meaning, and purpose of legal writing in the American law. You will learn the essential form and substance necessary to craft an inter-office legal memo, helpful ideas for persuasive brief-writing, and tips for excelling in legal writing.

Scribes--The American Society of Legal Writers is a respected national organization devoted to improving legal writing. Members include judges, attorneys, law professors, law librarians, and student-editors. The Scribes Manual for Law Review Editors is the definitive source for student-editors who seek to excel in their positions and improve their journals. The manual includes detailed and practical guidance from law professors and law librarians who have significant experience working on and with law reviews. Readers will learn more about journal structure and organization, editing, leadership, and relationships critical to the publication process and success of the journal as an organization. The book's authors use the terms "law review" and "law journal" as synonyms throughout, so regardless of the student-edited journal's name, this Manual will help new editors understand their roles and responsibilities and learn how their work fits within their law school's program of legal education.

With expanded coverage in this new edition, The Elements of Legal Style features additional sections, many more examples, and a thoroughly researched appendix that contains 80 major statements on prose style--what it is and how to attain it. Inspired by Strunk and White's The Elements of Style, this book clearly (often wittily) explains the full range of what legal writers need to know: mechanics, word choice, structure, and rhetoric, as well as all the special conventions that legal writers should follow in using headings, defined terms, quotations, and many other devices. Garner also provides abundant examples from the best legal writers of yesterday and today, including Oliver Wendell Holmes, Clarence Darrow, Frank Easterbrook, and Antonin Scalia. If you want to make your writing clearer, more precise, more persuasive, and above all more stylish, The Elements of Legal Style offers the surest--and the most enjoyable--means to that end.

This book provides a ten-step guide to clear, precise, and effective legal writing and analysis for both law students and experienced lawyers. It gives the keys to writing legal memoranda and briefs, organizing analysis, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. The book describes a method for analyzing and improving individual writing style includes a sample analysis. It also includes new material on using plain English and new legal documents to illustrate effective writing techniques.