Law: International Law

Guides to Foreign Legal Sources

Guide to Law Online: Nations
Alphabetical list of legal research guides for each country of the world from the Law Library of Congress. "Vast network of links to content-based Web sites of primary and secondary legal and legislative information services from 143 nations and all U.S. federal, state and territorial government entities."
AccessToLaw: World Law
Compiled by the staff of the Inner Temple Library in London. The Inner Temple Library is one of the four Inns of Court libraries, which serve barristers, judges and bar students in England and Wales.
Global Legal Monitor
The Global Legal Monitor is an online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources. You can find previous news by searching the Global Legal Monitor. Entries can be filtered by topic and/or by country/jurisdiction.

Foreign Legislation

ChinaLawInfo 北大法宝
- This link opens in a new window
Online database of statutes and legal information presented by Chinalawinfo Co. and the Peking University Center for Legal Information, Peking University. The database includes 500,000 statutes, including 400 laws, 2,000 regulations, and 200 judicial explanations for free. Nearly 2,000 full-text English versions of Chinese statutes (fee-based), newly released laws and regulations. Includes cases, research articles of legal studies, searchable by subjects, book reviews, links to online Chinese legal journals, a directory of Chinese law scholars, and information about law making and law enforcement. Link to English information leads to separate Web site
LawnB = 로앤비
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a legal information portal service. Included are cases, laws and regulations, legal articles, lawyers, forms, administrative law, and business law
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
Canadian Content
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Provincial Statutes of Canada

Case Law
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
History of International Law
Law Library of Congress Reports
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provincial Statutes of Canada
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Library

Journals and Periodicals
Bar Journals
Law Journal Library
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

Special Collections
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Cataloging Legal Literature
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Democracy in America
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
LGBTQ+ Rights
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Military and Government
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Voting Rights & Election Law
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)

U.S. Federal Content
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Library of Congress Reports
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Water Rights & Resources

U.S. State Content
Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide
Session Laws Library
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
State Constitutions Illustrated
State Reports: A Historical Archive
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Subject Compilations of State Laws
Water Rights & Resources

GlobaLex
Comprehensive guides to international, comparative, and foreign law research
Legislationline.org
provides direct access to international norms and standards relating to specific human dimension issues (see list of topics on left-hand column) as well as to domestic legislation and other documents of relevance to these issues. These data and other information available from the site are intended for lawmakers across the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) region.
EUR-Lex
EUR-Lex provides direct free access to European Union law. Here you can consult the Official Journal of the European Union as well as the treaties, legislation, case-law and legislative proposals.
N-Lex
N-Lex provides a single entry point to the national law databases on individual EU countries.
FAOLEX
national legislation and international agreements concerning food and agriculture (including FISHERIES, forestry and water)
International IDEA Data & Tools
Interactive data visualizations and downloadable data by country or theme: Electoral Processes; Constitution-Building and the Rule of Law; Gender and Inclusion; Money in Politics; Political Participation and Representation; Digitalization and Democracy; Democracy Assessment; Climate Change and Democracy
NORMLEX: Database on International Labour Standards
Brings together information on International Labour Standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws. Includes the NATLEX database as well as the information which was previously contained in the former APPLIS, ILOLEX and Libsynd databases.
NATLEX: ILO Bibliographic Database of National Labor Law
Bibliographic database featuring national labor laws from countries around the world. The database is browseable by country and by subject, and offers full-text searching.
RefWorld: National Legislation / National Legislative Bodies / National Authorities
Laws relating to refugees, human rights, citizenship, etc.
Women, Business and the Law
A World Bank Group project collecting data on the laws and regulations that affect women’s economic opportunity.

Foreign Caselaw

ChinaLawInfo 北大法宝
- This link opens in a new window
Online database of statutes and legal information presented by Chinalawinfo Co. and the Peking University Center for Legal Information, Peking University. The database includes 500,000 statutes, including 400 laws, 2,000 regulations, and 200 judicial explanations for free. Nearly 2,000 full-text English versions of Chinese statutes (fee-based), newly released laws and regulations. Includes cases, research articles of legal studies, searchable by subjects, book reviews, links to online Chinese legal journals, a directory of Chinese law scholars, and information about law making and law enforcement. Link to English information leads to separate Web site
LawnB = 로앤비
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a legal information portal service. Included are cases, laws and regulations, legal articles, lawyers, forms, administrative law, and business law
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Sources include
Cases - Australia
Cases - Canada
Cases - Hong Kong
Cases - New Zealand
Cases - United Kingdom
Statutes and Legislation - Australia
Statutes and Legislation - Canada
Statutes and Legislation - Hong Kong
Statutes and Legislation - New Zealand
Statutes and Legislation - United Kingdom
also
Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports
Butterworths Statutes of South Africa
LexisNexis® China Law Database

World LII
WorldLII provides a single search facility for databases located on the following Legal Information Institutes: AustLII; BAILII; CanLII; HKLII; LII (Cornell); and PacLII.
It also includes as part of this searchable collection its own databases, with content including decisions of international Courts and Tribunals, and databases from a number of Asian countries and from South Africa (provided by Wits Law School). Note: WorldLII is a free source, so not every case from every jurisdiction is included, and sometimes links to cases are broken.

Treaties

Treaties in force : a list of treaties and other international acts of the United States in force on Latest issue only
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library
- This link opens in a new window
This library includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes the Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, United Nations Treaty Series (December 1946 - December 2006), and League of Nations Treaty Series (5 July 1920 - 3 October 1944).
European Treaties
Researching U.S. Treaties and Agreements
A complete research guide for finding information about U.S. treaties and agreements as well as international treaties.
Researching Non-U.S. Treaties
A complete guide to finding information about bilateral and multilateral international agreements to which the U.S. is not a party.
Treaty Research Guide from USD

Search Engines

Use these Google Custom Search Engines to search for current online documents, publications, and websites from international organizations, nongovernmental organizations, or governments:

►Search tip: Google-powered searches can be limited to pages published during a specific timeframe by using before:[date] and/or after:[date]

Government & Policy Organizations

Intergovernmental Organizations

Nongovernmental Organizations

Think Tank Search (Harvard)

California NGOs

Regional Government Information

Africa

Canada

Europa (EU)

Mexico

US Government (LiberGov)

Search Query: