Skip to Main Content

CAT 2

Chicago Style

Chicago style is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences, arts, and humanities.  These resources, revised according to the 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, offer examples for the general format of Chicago style research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and bibliographies:

How to Write a Citation- Chicago (Notes-Bibliography)

Chicago journal article citation
Journal Article (Online)
Bibliography:

Peltonen, Kirsi, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen. “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health.” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Note: Kirsi Peltonen, Noora Ellonen, Helmer B. Larsen, and Karin Helweg-Larsen, “Parental Violence and Adolescent Mental Health,” European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry 19, no. 11 (2010): 813-822, https://doi.org/10.1007/s00787-010-0130-8.

Chicago book citation
Book (Whole)
Bibliography:

Lash, Scott, and John Urry. Economies of Signs & Space. London: Sage Publications, 1994.

Note: Scott Lash and John Urry, Economies of Signs & Space (London: Sage Publications, 1994), 241-51.

Chicago book chapter citation
Book (Chapter)
Bibliography:

Chilson, Peter. "The Border." In The Best American Travel Writing 2008, edited by Anthony Bourdain, 44-51. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.

Note: Peter Chilson, "The Border," in The Best American Travel Writing 2008, ed. Anthony Bourdain (Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008), 46.

Chicago film citation
Film
Bibliography:

Shanley, John Patrick, dir. Joe Versus the Volcano. 1990; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2002. DVD.

Note: Joe Versus the Volcano, directed by John Patrick Shanley (1990; Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2002), DVD.

Chicago painting citation
Painting (accessed online)
Bibliography:

Filippo Lippi, Portrait of a Woman with a Man at a Casement, ca. 1440, tempera on wood, 64.1 x 41.9 cm, The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed October 19, 2023. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436896.

Note: Filippo Lippi, Portrait of a Woman with a Man at a Casement, ca. 1440, tempera on wood, 64.1 x 41.9 cm, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, accessed October 19, 2023, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436896.

Chicago audio recording citation
Audio Recording
Bibliography:

Dylan, Bob. “Workingman’s Blues #2.” Recorded February 2006. Track 3 on Modern Times. Columbia, CD.

Note: Bob Dylan, “Workingman’s Blues #2,” recorded February 2006, track 3 on Modern Times, Columbia, CD.

 

Social Media citation

Instagram post
Bibliography:

None.

Note: Whakatane Museum and Art Gallery (@whakatanemuseamandarts), "Another great post card design for our new Volcanic Artist Residency, by @rossmurrayillustration #whakaari #whakatane," Instagram photo, July 6, 2018, https://www.instagram.com/p/Bk4pm9XBN_g/.
Special Note:

Typically, a citation to social media content is only included in your bibliography if it is critical to your argument.

 

PowerPoint slide citation

PowerPoint slide
Bibliography:

Givens, Tamara. “CAT 3: Week 6 Lecture.” PowerPoint course lecture presentation, University of California - San Diego, La Jolla, CA, May 3, 2023.

Note: Givens, Tamara. “CAT 3: Week 6 Lecture” (PowerPoint presentation, University of California - San Diego, La Jolla, CA, May 3, 2023).

Lecture recording citation

Lecture recording
Bibliography:

Jernigan, Terry. "Genome-wide Association Studies and the Curse of Dimensionality." Class lecture video, 52:18. NURS 100 Translational Medicine, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA. Posted April 9, 2023. https://canvas.sandiego.edu. 

Note:

Terry Jernigan, "Genome-wide Association Studies and the Curse of Dimensionality," class lecture video, 52:18, NURS 100 Translational Medicine, University of San Diego, San Diego, CA, posted April 9, 2023, https://canvas.sandiego.edu. 

Course lecture notes

Notes from a class lecture
Bibliography:

Sardana, Bikrum. "Introduction to Government and Politics." Course notes for PSC 100 Canadian Government, Camosun College, Victoria, BC, October 19, 2017. https://online.camosun.ca/d2l/lms/content/viewer/main_frame.d2l?ou=14421&tId=317777.pdf.

Note: Bikrum Sardana, "Introduction to Government and Politics" (course notes for PSC 100 Canadian Government, Camosun College, Victoria, BC, October 19, 2017). https://online.camosun.ca/d2l/lms/content/viewer/main_frame.d2l?ou=14421&tId=317777.pdf.

Citation Help

Writing Help