Roe v. Wade / Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization : SCOTUS Decision and the Federal Response: Committees

Senate Budget Committee

• Hearing: No Rights to Speak of: The Economic Harms of Restricting Reproductive Freedom (2/28/24)

Senate Finance Committee

• Wyden, Jayapal and Jacobs Inquiry Finds Pharmacies Fail to Protect the Privacy of Americans’ Medical Records; HHS Must Update Health Privacy Rules (12/12/23)
  • Inquiry letter to HHS Secretary

Senate HELP Committee

• Senator Murray Statement on SCOTUS Overturning Roe and Republicans’ Decades-Long Effort to End Abortion Rights (6/24/22)
• Senator Murray Announces [7/13/22] HELP Hearing On Abortion and Reproductive Health Care Post-Roe (6/24/22)
• Murray, Democrats Push Biden for “Bold Action” to Protect Abortion Access in a Post-Roe America (6/25/22)
• Following Push From Murray, Biden Administration Puts Insurers on Notice For Failing to Cover Birth Control As Required By Law (6/27/22)
• Senator Murray, WA Abortion Providers Push To Protect Abortion Access in Post-Roe America (6/29/22)
• At Spokane Planned Parenthood, Senator Murray Highlights Post-Roe Health Care Crises Caused By Republicans (7/7/22)
• Statement from Senator Murray on Biden Issuing an Abortion Executive Order, Following Murray-Led Push from Senate Democrats (7/8/22)
• Senator Murray Pushes to Ensure Everyone Can Access Over-the-Counter Birth Control as FDA Considers First-Ever Application (7/11/22; see also, company press release)
• Hearing - Reproductive Care in a Post-Roe America: Barriers, Challenges, and Threats to Women's Health (7/13/22)
• Senator Murray Releases Report Detailing Dire Post-Roe Impacts on Women’s Health and Reproductive Care (8/1/22)
• Round Up: As Dems Fight to Protect Americans’ Reproductive Rights, Week after Week Republicans Stand in the Way (8/11/22)
• Murray Leads 29 Senators in Urging Biden Admin to Strengthen Privacy Protections for Women Seeking Reproductive Health Care (9/13/22)
• Senate Democrats Vow to Fight Republicans’ National Abortion Ban (9/15/22)

Senate Judiciary Committee

• Hearing - A Post-Roe America: The Legal Consequences of the Dobbs Decision (7/12/22)
• Durbin, Duckworth Press Walgreens on Policy that Fails to Consider Patients' Medical Needs and Right-to-Privacy when Purchasing Reproductive Health Products (7/29/22)
• Hearing - Nominations (9/21/22)
  • includes Julie Rikelman, who defended abortion rights in the Dobbs case, to be United States Circuit Judge for the First Circuit
  • committee deadlocked on advancing Rikelman's nomination; a vote of the full chamber can advance the nomination out of committee (12/1/22)
• Hearing - The Assault on Reproductive Rights in a Post-Dobbs America (4/26/23)
• On the 51st Anniversary of Roe V. Wade, Durbin Recommits to Protecting Reproductive Rights (1/22/24)
• Congressional Democrats File Amicus Brief Urging Supreme Court to Reverse Dangerous Ruling That Would Restrict Access to Mifepristone Nationwide & Upend FDA Approval Process (1/30/24)
  • Brief
• Following the Alabama IVF Ruling, Durbin Announces Senate Judiciary Committee Hearing to Examine the Continued Fallout Since the Supreme Court Overruled Roe V. Wade (2/27/24)
• Hearing - The Continued Assault on Reproductive Freedoms in a Post-Dobbs America (3/20/24)

House Armed Services Committee

• Hearing - Service Members' Reproductive Health and Readiness (7/29/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]

House Education & the Workforce Committee

• Chairwoman Foxx Advocates for Pregnant Students' Rights [re: H.R. 6914] (1/18/24)
• Ranking Member Scott Votes “NO” on House Republicans’ Extreme, Anti-Choice Bill to Keep Pregnant Students in the Dark About Their Rights [re: H.R. 6914] (1/18/24)
  • Fact sheet

House Energy & Commerce Committee

• E&C Announces Hearing on Impact of Overturning Roe v. Wade on July 19 (7/8/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive)
• Hearing - Roe Reversal: The Impacts of Taking Away the Constitutional Right to an Abortion (7/19/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• E&C Leaders Request Briefing from Meta on Protecting Reproductive Health Care Privacy (8/31/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Pallone Announces Committee Democrats Will Investigate the Consequences of Republican-Imposed Abortion Restrictions on Health Care Providers and Patients (9/18/23)

House Judiciary Committee

• Hearing - What’s Next: The Threat to Individual Freedoms in a Post-Roe World (7/14/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]

House Oversight Committee

• Maloney, Krishnamoorthi, and Jacobs Launch Probe of Reproductive Health Data Privacy (7/8/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Oversight Committee to Hold Hearing on Abortion Access in Post-Roe America (7/11/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Hearing - The Impact of the Supreme Court’s Dobbs Decision on Abortion Rights and Access Across the United States (7/13/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Oversight Committee Hearing Highlights Devastating Impact of Overturning Roe on Abortion Access in Frontline States (7/14/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Hearing - Examining the Harm to Patients from Abortion Restrictions and the Threat of a National Abortion Ban (9/29/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
  • Ahead of Hearing, Oversight Committee Releases Memo Detailing Extreme Anti-Abortion Positions of Congressional Republicans [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Committee Releases Report on Insurer and PBM Compliance with Affordable Care Act’s Birth Control Coverage Requirement (10/25/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
  • Barriers to Birth Control:  An Analysis of Contraceptive Coverage and Costs for Patients with Private Insurance [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
  • Chairwoman Maloney to Introduce Legislation to Create National Public Awareness Campaign on Where and How to Access Abortion Care [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Oversight Democrats Call on Big Tech to Combat the Rampant Spread of Life-Threatening Abortion Misinformation and Disinformation (12/7/23)

House Veterans Affairs Committee

• Committee Launches New Effort Focused on Reproductive Healthcare Access for America's Veterans (8/18/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Committee Unveils Veterans Reproductive Healthcare Survey (8/23/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Chairman Takano Leads Public Comment Letter on VA's IFR [Interim Final Rule on abortions] (10/14/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]
• Chairman Takano Releases Majority Staff Report on Women Veterans' Reproductive Healthcare (11/7/22) [previous Congress; captured in Internet Archive]