Roe v. Wade / Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization : SCOTUS Decision and the Federal Response: Congress

 

Congressional Leaders

House Democrats: Chairman Jeffries Statement on the Extreme Supreme Court Decision to Overturn Roe v. Wade (6/24/22)

The House GOP Leadership’s Statement on the Dobbs Decision (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)

• House Republicans are on the Side of Life (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)
• House GOP Pledges to Honor Our Fundamental Freedoms (via Internet Archive) (7/6/22)

Steny Hoyer

• Hoyer Statement on Supreme Court Decision Overturning Roe v. Wade (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)
• Americans Oppose the Supreme Court’s Decision to Overturn Roe v. Wade, Support Access to Reproductive Care (via Internet Archive) (6/25/22)
• Hoyer Statement on President Biden's Executive Order Protecting Reproductive Freedom (via Internet Archive) (7/8/22)
• Hoyer: We Cannot Afford to Underestimate the Risk to Marriage Equality (via Internet Archive) (7/19/22; see also, H.R. 8404)

Hakeen Jeffries

• Leader Jeffries Statement on the 50th Anniversary of Roe v. Wade (1/22/23)
• Leader Jeffries: "We Will Crush the Extreme MAGA Republican Effort to Criminalize Abortion Care" (1/18/24)
• Leader Jeffires: "Extreme MAGA Republicans Are Once Again Pushing Their Anti-Abortion, Anti-Freedom, Anti-Woman Agenda (1/18/24)
• Leader Jeffries Statement on the 51st Anniversary of Roe v. Wade (1/22/24)
• Congressional Democrats File Amicus Brief Urging Supreme Court to Affirm that EMTALA Requires Hospitals to Provide Emergency Stabilizing Care Including Abortion Care, Preempts Idaho’s Draconian Abortion Ban (3/28/24)
  • Amicus brief

Kevin McCarthy

• Speaker McCarthy Statement on Passage of Pro-Life Legislation (via Internet Archive) (1/11/23)
• Speaker McCarthy: A Day to Celebrate Life (via Internet Archive) (1/20/23)

Mitch McConnell

• "The Supreme Court’s Landmark Ruling Is Courageous and Correct" (6/24/22)
• McConnell: Another Dangerous Attack on the Supreme Court (6/30/22)

Nancy Pelosi

• Pelosi Statement on Supreme Court Overturning Roe v. Wade (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)
• Dear Colleague on Supreme Court Overturning Roe v. Wade (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)
• Dear Colleague: Miscarriage of Justice (via Internet Archive) (6/25/22)
• Dear Colleague on Legislative Response to Supreme Court Overturning Roe (via Internet Archive) (6/27/22)
• Pelosi Statement on President Biden’s Executive Order Protecting Reproductive Care (via Internet Archive) (7/8/22)
• Transcript of Pelosi Remarks at Press Event on Capitol Steps Ahead of House Passage of Bills to Protect Women’s Reproductive Freedom (via Internet Archive) (7/15/22; see also, H.R. 8297 and H.R. 8296)
• Transcript of Pelosi Remarks at Press Event on Right to Contraception Act (via Internet Archive) (7/20/22; see also, H.R. 8373)
• Transcript of Pelosi Remarks at Press Event Sharing Stories on Consequences of Extreme GOP Attacks on Reproductive Health Care (via Internet Archive) (7/28/22)
• Transcript of Pelosi Remarks at Roundtable on Women’s Reproductive Health (via Internet Archive) (8/26/22)
• Pelosi Remarks at Roundtable Discussion on Women’s Reproductive Freedom (via Internet Archive) (10/21/22)

Steve Scalise

• Majority Leader Scalise: The Fight For Life Continues (1/20/23)

Chuck Schumer

• Schumer Statement on SCOTUS Overturning Roe and Republicans’ Complicity in this Dangerous Decision to End Abortion Rights (6/24/22)
  • Transcript: Majority Leader Schumer Remarks At A Press Conference On The Fight To Protect Abortion Rights Against MAGA Republicans Following The 50th Anniversary Of Roe (1/24/23)
• Transcript: Majority Leader Schumer Delivers Remarks At Abortion Rights Briefing Ahead Of The 51st Anniversary Of Roe v. Wade (1/17/24)
• Majority Leader Schumer Floor Remarks On The Devastating Impact Of The Dobbs Decision And Democrats’ Continued Fight For A Woman’s Right To Choose (1/30/24)
• Majority Leader Schumer Floor Remarks Urging The Supreme Court To Overturn the Fifth Circuit Ruling Restricting Access To Mifepristone And Democrats’ Continued Fight For A Woman’s Right To Choose (1/31/24)
• Majority Leader Schumer Dear Colleague On Senate Democrats Fighting To Protect Reproductive Freedoms (6/2/24)

---

Additional House/Senate Responses

Democratic Women's Caucus

• Democratic Women’s Caucus Statement on SCOTUS Decision on Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization (via Internet Archive) (6/24/22)
• Democratic Women’s Caucus Defends Reproductive Freedom (via Internet Archive) (7/19/22)

Congressional Progressive Caucus

• Congressional Progressive Caucus Chair Rep. Jayapal on Supreme Court Decision Overturning Roe v. Wade (6/24/22)
• Congressional Progressive Caucus Releases Agenda for Legislative and Executive Action to Protect Abortion Rights and Reproductive Freedom (7/15/22)
• Congressional Progressive Caucus Applauds House Passage of Respect for Marriage Act (7/19/22)

Pro-Choice Caucus

• Pro-Choice Caucus statement on Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe v. Wade (6/24/22)

Congressional Democrats

Warren Announces Two Key Data Brokers’ Commitment to Permanently Stop Selling Location Data of People Seeking Abortion Services (7/7/22)

Congresswoman Lizzie Fletcher and Congressman Lloyd Doggett Lead Effort To Protect Access to Abortion and Declare Public Health Emergency (7/13/22; direct to letter with 83 signatures)

Warren, Booker, Padilla Lead Senate Democrats Urging the Biden Administration to Declare a National and Public Health Emergency on Reproductive Rights (7/14/22; direct to letter with 18 signatures)

Shaheen Leads 37 Senators in Letter to Pentagon Underscoring National Security Imperative to Provide Abortion Leave for Service Members (3/27/23; direct to letter)

Democrats In Congress File Amicus Brief Urging Appeals Court To Prevent Dangerous Ruling Threatening Access To Mifepristone From Taking Effect (4/11/23; direct to amicus brief)

Congressional Democrats File Amicus Brief Urging Fifth Circuit to Reverse Texas District Court’s Ruling on Mifepristone (5/2/23)

Wyden Reveals Phone Data Used to Target Abortion Misinformation at Visitors to Hundreds of Reproductive Health Clinics (2/13/24)

Senate Republicans Block Murray and Duckworth Bill to Protect IVF After Flurry of Republican Statements Expressing Alleged Support for IVF (2/28/24)

Congressional Democrats File Amicus Brief Urging Supreme Court to Affirm that EMTALA Requires Hospitals to Provide Emergency Stabilizing Care Including Abortion Care, Preempts Idaho’s Draconian Abortion Ban (3/28/24)

• Amicus Brief