Skip to main content

BISP 170 - Bioscholars Seminar, Spring 2020: Home

Resources for BISP 170 - Bioscholars Seminar, Spring 2020

Welcome!

This guide provides links to the materials presented in the BISP 170 library seminar, as well as helpful tips for writing your final research paper.  

 

Off-Campus Access

For access to library resources from off campus, you need to configure your computer or mobile device to use the campus VPN. You need to use the "allthruucsd" option for connecting to library content - this is not needed for general campus work.  

A diagram of what your VPN client should look like is on the VPN Settings tab above. 

Useful Background Materials

You can find more background material from the library by searching our catalog, Roger. 

Recommended Databases for BISP 170

General, All-Subject Databases

Google Scholar

Scholarly publications in all disciplines: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. 

  • Searches the full text of articles - great for very specific terms
  • If you are logged into the VPN you will see UC e-Links for access to full text
  • Use quote-mark icons to get copy-able formatted citation

Web of Science

Covers over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.


Biology/Biomedical Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index

BIOSIS covers around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences.  Includes ability to search forr cited references.

PubMed (link specific to UC)

Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database

The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database covers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage is from 1950 - present.


All Databases A-Z

Looking for a different topic? This page lists all of our databases. You can pre-filter by a broad subject area. 

 

 

Contact Me

Jenny Reiswig's picture
Jenny Reiswig
Contact:
UC San Diego Library
9500 Gilman Drive, 0699
La Jolla, CA, 92093
858-534-1205

Slides from 4/23 Seminar