Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating Alerts to Keep Up with New Publications
A great way to keep up with new periodical publications is to use BrowZine to create customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals and News Sources (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com), through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices.
UCSD Library's Research Guide dedicated to Newspapers identifies, describes, and provides links to a wide range of news sources resporting on the local to the international level.
UCSD subscribes to hundreds of interdisciplinary and subject-specific databases on virtually every subject available. A few of the most important databases for History are:
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new window
International index to journal articles published from 1972 to 2015, provides access to more than 20 million references in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
However, because History is such a broad field and addresses a wide range of topics, databases dedicated to literature in other areas (such as Anthropology, Visual Arts, International Studies , Languages and Literature, Area Studies, etc. to name only a few), Thus, it is important to consult Research Guides designed to help with research in other disciplines.
The American Historical Review
The American Historical Review is THE seminal historical journal providing historiographical essays and book reviews to inform readers about new resources and key work in all historical fields.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.