Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get started with your research
Benezit Dictionary of Artists This link opens in a new window
With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates, Benezit is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources on artists in the English language.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Provides an overview of the history of art as illustrated and represented in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection
A well-respected online resource for art and art history.
Writing about art
The Elements of Style by
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The only style manual to ever appear on a bestseller list now refreshed by one of our most beloved illustrators Every English writer knows Strunk and White's The Elements of Style. The book's mantra, make every word tell, is still on point. This much-loved classic, now in its fourth edition, will forever be the go-to guide when in need of a hint to make a turn of phrase clearer or a reminder on how to enliven prose with the active voice.
Find articles in the Visual Arts
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles from 1926 to the present.
ARTBibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
1974-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. Citations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.
Getty Research Portal
Free search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Find articles in multidisciplinary resources
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup UC-eLinks, and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the web vpn (https://vpn.ucsd.edu) to get full access to UCSD article content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-1995. Index to 22 million articles from over 7,000 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Visual Arts ebook collections
Find information on art terms, techniques and more
Art History Dissertations
Art History Dissertations and Abstracts from North American Institutions
The dataset presents over 6,000 dissertations from over 80 North American institutions. To enhance the value of the dataset and to create a fuller picture of the field of art history, the abstracts for the submitted dissertations were added when possible. This bibliography provides a historical look at the field and has already spurred an interest in digital humanities projects using both textual and network analyses.
Guides to the Literature of Art History